Skip to main content

Battey Named A Finalist For 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award

Feb 10, 2022

BOULDER – The University of Colorado's Evan Battey has been named a finalist for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award, the organization announced on Thursday.
Battey is one of 20 NCAA men's and women's basketball student-athletes, who excel both on and off the court, that were honored.
To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 
Battey, a 6-8 forward from Los Angeles, is Colorado's active leader in scoring and rebounding. He is averaging 11.3 points and 4.5 rebounds while ranking among the Pac-12 Conference leaders in field goal shooting at 51 percent.
Battey was one of two inaugural recipients of the Colorado Athletics Visibility Award (CAVA), a scholarship program with the purpose of creating a community of collegiate scholar-athletes who have a desire to use their platform, power and visibility in their role as athletes to advance LGBTQ+ inclusion in sport.
Battey has represented Colorado well outside the campus as well. He was one of two student-athlete representatives to serve on the Pac-12's Mental Health Task Force. In addition, he served on the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Player Development Coalition, which comprised of 11 players nationally that met quarterly to provide feedback to the NABC regarding issues faced by college basketball players.
Battey graduated from Colorado in August, earning his degree in Journalism. He is currently pursuing a Master's Degree in Organizational Leadership.
The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 men's candidates and 30 women's candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 21. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.
The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men's Final Four and NCAA Women's Final Four.
For more information on the candidates, please visit  

2021-22 Senior CLASS Award Men's Basketball Finalists

Evan Battey, Colorado                                              Gavin Kensmil, Stephen F. Austin

Brad Davison, Wisconsin                                          Kameron McGusty, Miami

Trent Frazier, Illinois                                                  Alex Morales, Wagner

Jacob Gilyard, Richmond                                          Sasha Stefanovic, Purdue

Tanner Groves, Oklahoma                                        Lucas Williamson, Loyola Chicago


2021-22 Senior CLASS Award Women's Basketball Finalists


Elissa Cunane, NC State                                          Sonya Morris, DePaul

Naz Hillmon, Michigan                                               Ali Patberg, Indiana

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky                                         NaLyssa Smith, Baylor

Lexie Hull, Stanford                                                   Sam Thomas, Arizona

Morgan Jones, Florida State                                     Macee Williams, IUPUI