Skip to main content

Mathurin Makes Naismith Trophy Midseason Watch List

Feb 10, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona sophomore guard Bennedict Mathurin was one of 30 NCAA Division I men's basketball players from across the country to be named to the Naismith Trophy Player of the Year Midseason Watch List on Thursday.
The Montreal native is also on the Late Season Watch List for the Wendy's Wooden Award and the Top 10 list for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award.
In 22 games this year, Mathurin is averaging a team-best 16.5 points – third in the Pac-12 – and also hauling in 6.0 rebounds per game. He is shooting 48.5% from the floor and 35.5% from the 3-point line and has three double-doubles to his credit. He has scored 20 or more points six times and reached double figures in all but three games so far.
Arizona is ranked fourth in the country according to the Associated Press and is number three in the latest NET rankings with games at Washington State and Washington on the schedule this week.
Jersey Mike's Naismith Trophy 2022 Midseason Team

Bennedict Mathurin So. G Arizona
Collin Gillespie Sr. G Villanova
E.J. Liddell Jr. F Ohio State
Jaden Ivey So. G Purdue
Johnny Davis So. G Wisconsin
Johnny Juzang Jr. G UCLA
Keegan Murray So. F Iowa
Kofi Cockburn Jr. C Illinois
Oscar Tshiebwe Jr. F Kentucky
Paolo Banchero Fr. F Duke
Trayce Jackson-Davis Jr. F Indiana
Drew Timme Jr. F Gonzaga
Jabari Smith Fr. F Auburn
Ochai Agbaji Sr. G Kansas
Chet Holmgren Fr. F Gonzaga
James Akinjo Sr. G Baylor
Alondes Williams G Sr. Wake Forest
David Roddy Jr. F Colorado State
Isaiah Mobley Jr. F USC
Max Abmas Jr. G Oral Roberts
Walker Kessler So. C Auburn
Justin Lewis Fr. F Marquette
Zach Edey So. C Purdue
Armando Bacot Jr. F/C North Carolina
Kendric Davis Sr. G SMU
Orlando Robinson Jr. F Fresno St.
Tari Eason So. F LSU
Wendell Moore Jr. Jr. F Duke
Izaiah Brockington Sr. G Iowa St.
Kenneth Lofton Jr.  Fr. F Louisiana Tech