Skip to main content

Stanford Sweeps Awards

Feb 15, 2022

STANFORD, Calif. - Nicole Goot and Megan Abarca earned some more hardware than just the MPSF Championship this weekend. The stellar freshman was named the 2022 MPSF Artistic Swimmer & Freshman of the Meet and Abarca earned Coach of the Meet following their impressive performances over the weekend.
Both of the major inaugural MPSF Awards as artistic swimmer and freshman of the championship meet went to Goot thanks to her accumulating the highest individual point total (71) amongst all competitors across the two-day event.

Heavily contributing to Stanford's conference title in the first-ever MPSF Championship meet, Goot recorded first-place results in the duet (15 points), trio (16 points), and team (18 points) competitions, along with a second-place Figure A result (22 all-conference points).

Earlier this season on January 18, 2022, she became the MPSF's first-ever artistic swimmer of the week after winning both the Figure A and duet competitions in the season opener. Goot was a 2020-21 member of the United States Senior National Team and Olympic Qualification squad.
Abarca led the Cardinal to the inaugural 2022 MPSF Championship, as the team finished with 102 points over the two-day meet. Stanford placed seven artistic swimmers on the first-ever 12 student-athlete all-conference team.

Abarca was named head coach of Stanford on May 25, 2018. She has helped with all aspects of the program since 2012, and has been instrumental in its success. Stanford claimed collegiate national championships in 2013, 2016 and 2021, runner-up finishes in 2017, 2018 and 2019, and third-place showings in 2014 and 2015.

She was the 2021 USA Artistic Swimming Collegiate Coach of the Year, as she most recently guided Stanford to the 2021 national title as the Cardinal swept all events. Since Abarca's arrival, 39 Cardinal student-athletes have earned All-America honors, including six in 2019. Eleven Stanford student-athletes were recognized with USA Synchro Academic Awards that year.

All-MPSF Selections
Nicole Goot
Jacklyn Luu
Lindi Schroeder
Emmanuella Tchakmakjian
Hailee Heinrich
Ava Jih-Schiff
Audrey Nguyen