Skip to main content

Mathurin A Finalist for Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award

Mar 1, 2022

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the five finalists for the 2022 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, including Arizona sophomore Bennedict Mathurin. 
Named after Class of 1980 Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its eighth year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men's college basketball. 
In addition to Mathurin, the other finalists are Ochai Agbaji (Kansas), Jaden Ivey (Purdue), Johnny Juzang (UCLA) and Johnny Davis (Wisconsin).
A native of Montreal, Mathurin is averaging 17.1 points (2nd in Pac-12) and 5.7 rebounds (15th) while shooting 37.7% (13th) from the 3-point line and averaging 2.1 3-point field goals made per game. He has scored 20 or more points on 10 occasions this year, including six times in Pac-12 play.
A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in November, which was narrowed to 10 candidates in late January and now to just five finalists. This month, the finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The winner of the 2021 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame's selection committee. Naismith Starting Five presented by Dell Technologies will go live Friday, March 4 on
The winner of the 2022 Jerry West Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women's Starting Five. Additional information about the award presentation, including date and time, will be released in the coming weeks.
Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Chris Duarte, Oregon (2021), Myles Powell, Seton Hall (2020), RJ Barrett, Duke (2019), Carsen Edwards, Purdue (2018), Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).