Skip to main content

Four Beavers Qualify for NCAA Indoor Championships

Mar 2, 2022

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Four Oregon State track and field athletes have punched their tickets to the NCAA Indoor Championships, which will be held Mar. 11-12 in Birmingham, Ala. Redshirt junior Kaylee Mitchell, sophomore Adael Scatena, senior Mari Friedman, and redshirt junior Grace Fetherstonhaugh will represent the Beavers in the distance medley relay (DMR) on Friday, Mar. 11 at 8:45 p.m. CT (6:45 p.m. PT). Mitchell and Fetherstonhaugh will also compete in the 3000 meters, set for Saturday, Mar. 12 at 8 p.m. CT (6 p.m. PT). 
 
"I'm very excited to have a presence at the 2022 NCAA Indoor Championships," said head coach Louie Quintana. "This will go down as the hardest NCAA meet to ever qualify for and we are showing our program growth by having a relay and two entrants in the 3K.  The women are confident and racing their very best at the moment, so we are excited to compete.  This is a special moment for our program, one that we are looking to build off of in the future.  Go Beavs."
 
Mitchell, Scatena, Friedman, and Fetherstonhaugh shattered the Oregon State record on Feb. 25 at the Pac-12 invitational, clocking a time of 10:57.35 to finish second. The previous record was 11:24.59, set in 2017 by Juliana Mount, Kerissa D'Arpino, Gwyneth McMorris, and Morgan Anderson. 
 
Mitchell also broke the school record in the 3000 meters, breaking nine minutes to post a time of 8:58.39 and clinch first at the Pac-12 Invitational on Feb. 26. It was the second time this season that Mitchell has set the 3000-meter record as well as the third time this season alone that the record has been broken. Fetherstonhaugh clocked a time of 9:00.87 in the 3000 meters at the Pac-12 Invitational, also surpassing the previous record of 9:01.74 that she had set on Feb. 12. 

Last season, Fetherstonhaugh competed at the NCAA Indoor Championships in the 5000 meters in Fayetteville, Ark. on Mar. 12, 2021. She finished 14th overall with a time of 16:22.03. Fetherstonhaugh had been just the third Beaver in program history to qualify for the indoor championships, having been preceded by Laura Carlyle, who competed in the mile and finished 13th in 2012, and Carina Westover, who finished sixth in the high jump in 1984. 
 
The top-12 relay teams in the nation and top-16 athletes in individual events advance to the NCAA Indoor Championships. The championships will be broadcasted live on ESPN3 starting at 11 a.m. ET (8 a.m. PT) on Friday and 11:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. P.T.) on Saturday. A re-air of the championship will take place on Mar. 13, starting at 9:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. PT)
 
NCAA Indoor Championships Schedule of Events
Birmingham, Ala. | Mar. 11-12
Competing Beavers 
 
Friday, Mar. 11
8:45 p.m. CT (6:45 p.m. PT) - Distance Medley Relay
Kaylee Mitchell, Adael Scatena, Mari Friedman, Grace Fetherstonhaugh
 
Saturday, Mar. 12
8:00 p.m. CT (6:00 p.m. PT) - 3000m
Kaylee Mitchell
Grace Fetherstonhaugh