Skip to main content

Bruin Divers All Set For 2022 Zone Championships

Mar 4, 2022
Maya Salvitti (photo: Don Liebig)

The UCLA swimming and diving team, which will send three swimmers to the 2022 NCAA Championships, has a chance to add to that tally next week at the NCAA Zone E Diving Championships, which will take place from Mar. 7-9.

The three-day event, held in Flagstaff, Ariz. at the Wall Aquatic Center on the campus of Northern Arizona University, determines which divers receive invites to the NCAA Championships.

Divers who finish in the top-seven for 1-meter, top-five for 3-meter, and top-nine for platform will automatically qualify for NCAAs. Anyone who earns an auto-qualifier in one event and finishes top-12 in another will secure NCAA qualification in that event as well. 

The Bruins will have three divers competing at Zones in junior Hannah Butler and freshmen Zoe Jespersgaard and Maya Salvitti. 

Jespersgaard will compete in all three events for UCLA. She'll be joined by Butler in both sprinboard events, and Salvitti in 1-meter. 

Butler is seeking NCAA qualification for the third consecutive season. She double-qualified (1M, 3M) as a sophomore in 2020-21, and was a CSCAA All-American in 1M as a true freshman in 2019-20. 

This year's Zone E Championships begin with 1-meter on Monday, followed by 3-meter on Tuesday and platform on Wednesday. Prelims begin at 10:30 a.m. PT each day, with finals to follow in the early afternoon.

Live scoring for all events at the Zone E Championships can be followed on

2022 NCAA Zone E Diving Championships Itinerary (all times PT)

Monday, Mar. 7 – 1-meter Diving

Prelims: 10:30 AM

Finals: 1:45 PM

Tuesday, Mar. 8 – 3-meter Diving

Prelims: 10:30 AM

Finals: 1:45 PM

Wednesday, Mar. 9 – Platform Diving

Prelims: 10:30 AM

Finals: 12:30 PM