Skip to main content

Beavers Open Spring Season With Busy Day in Vegas

Mar 6, 2022

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – The Oregon State men's rowing team opened its spring season with a busy day of racing Sunday morning at the Las Vegas Invitational.
The event was initially scheduled to begin on Saturday, but racing was postponed until Sunday morning due to high winds.
"This is an early season test against some good teams," said Oregon State head coach Gabe Winkler. "Racing three times in two hours was very tough. Each boat learned something each piece and had their best races on the third run. There was a little bit of frustration with some of the races, but that's how you learn and get better."
The Beavers' Varsity 8 ended its day by beating Santa Clara. The boat, which featured a lineup of Ethan deBorja (coxswain), Andrew Balsbaugh, Ryan Ghalayini, Tristan Gavin, Cal Labonski, Nils Patrick, Ryan Coulter, Brian Tames and Colin Lindquist, opened the day by losing to Drexel by a narrow margin of just over one second. The OSU varsity 8 also placed second in race 6, finishing behind California and ahead of San Diego.
Oregon State's JV8 finished second in two of its three races, placing behind California and ahead of Santa Clara in both of those events. The Beaver 3V8 highlighted its day by beating Santa Clara to close out the day for OSU.
The Beavers will return to action on March 19, when they host Gonzaga at Dexter Lake.  
Race 1 – Varsity 8
Drexel 5:54.16
Oregon State 5:55.38
Race 6 – Varsity 8
Cal 5:53.97
Oregon State 6:13.80
San Diego 6:22.73
Race 13 – Varsity 8
Oregon State 6:16.58
Santa Clara 6:20.99
Race 3 – JV8
Cal 5:50.44
Drexel 6:08.04
Oregon State 6:13.91
Race 14 – JV8
Cal 3V 6:15.01
Oregon State 6:26.19
Santa Clara 6:34.31
Race 8 – JV8
Cal 5:59.18
Oregon State 6:29.15
Santa Clara 3V 6:45.41
Race 4 – JV8
Santa Clara 6:13.23
Oregon State 3V 6:14.14
San Diego 6:31.36
Race 10 – 3V8
Cal 6:19.74
Oregon State 6:38.86
Race 15 – 3V8
Oregon State 6:24.21
Santa Clara 6:25.13
Oregon State Lineups:
Varsity 8:
C: Ethan deBorja
8: Andrew Balsbaugh
7: Ryan Ghalayini
6: Tristan Gavin
5: Cal Labonski
4: Nils Patrick
3: Ryan Coulter
2: Brian Tames
1: Colin Lindquist
2-Varsity 8:
C: Lidya Acar
8: William La Fond
7: Ben La Fond
6: Tristin Vanderlind
5: Philipp Seeger
4: Jackson Mastrorilli
3: Nathan Purtzer
2: Dylan Stengel
1: Connor Aeschbach
3-Varsity 8:

C: Drew Riviello
8: Chad Lee
7: Aiden Susak
6: Evan Hankins-Hull
5: Kai Geller
4: Matty Shepherd
3: Tanner Mathews
2: Patrick McIntee
1: Landen Acosta
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).