Skip to main content

Two Champs

Mar 6, 2022

TEMPE, Ariz. - Redshirt juniors Real Woods and Tyler Eischens captured individual titles to lead Stanford at the Pac-12 Championships, Sunday, at Desert Financial Arena.

Joining Woods and Eischens as automatic qualifiers for the 2022 NCAA Championships, being held at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit, were Logan Ashton and Shane Griffith. Woods and Griffith are now three-time NCAA qualifiers. Eischens is now a two-time qualifier, but will be making his first appearance as the 2020 tournament was canceled due to COVID. Ashton has qualified for the first time in his career.

Woods did not give up a point on Sunday, posting a pair of major decision victories at 141 pounds. Ranked eighth nationally, he defeated CSU Bakersfield's Angelo Martinoni, 13-0, in the semifinals and No. 15 Grant Willits, the tournament's top seed, 8-0 in the finals.

Woods, who won the title as a redshirt freshman in 2020, became just the eighth two-time Pac-12 champion in program history and first since Joey McKenna (2016, 2017). The Albuquerque, New Mexico, native is now 14-1 on the season and 39-5 in his Cardinal career. 

Wrestling with 'KM' written on his arm in honor of Stanford women's soccer player Katie Myer who passed away on Tuesday, Eischens captured his first individual conference championship with a 3-0 record at 174 pounds. The Anoka, Minnesota native opened the tournament with a 4-1 decision over Arizona State's Ryan Rochford. In the semifinals, he knocked off No. 27 Aaron Olmos of Oregon State, the No. 2 seed, with a 4-3 decision. He then took down the top seed, No. 13 Adam Kemp of Cal Poly, 4-3, in the finals.

Eischens moves to 19-10 on the year and now has 46 career wins - the third-most on Stanford's active roster.

Griffith finished as the runner-up at 165 pounds for the second straight season. Ranked No. 3 nationally, he registered his fifth win over a ranked opponent this season, defeating No. 8 Anthony Valencia of Arizona State, 1-0, in the semifinals. 

He faced Cal Poly's Evan Wick, who is ranked No. 1 in the country, in the finals. Wrestling for the third time this season, Griffith came up just short in an 8-7 loss to Wick. Griffith is now 15-4 this season with three of his four losses coming against Wick. The redshirt junior is 55-5 in his Stanford career.

Wrestling for the first time since the Southern Scuffle (Jan. 1-2), Ashton went 2-1 in his first conference tournament. After dropping his opening round match to Little Rock's Jayden Carson, 2-1, the Buford, Georgia native upset No. 28 Antonio Lorenzo of Cal Poly, 5-2 to advance to the third-place bout. 

In a rematch with Carson, Ashton avenged his earlier loss with a 3-1 decision to nab the final automatic postseason berth 125 pounds. The redshirt sophomore improved to 7-5 on the year.

Also wrestling in his first conference tournament, Charlie Darracott placed third at 157 pounds. The sophomore opened with a 6-3 decision over Cal Poly's Brawley Lamer before being edged by No. 15 Hunter Willits of Oregon State, 3-1, in sudden victory in the semifinals. He bounced back with a pair of decisions, 8-2 over Little Rock's Chase Tebbets and 6-2 against CSU Bakersfield's Brock Rogers. The Flowery Branch, Georgia native is now 18-12 on the season.

Placing fourth for the Cardinal were 133-pounder Jackson DiSario, 149-pounder Jaden Abas and 197-pounder Nick Stemmet. Heavyweight Peter Ming finished fifth, while 184-pounder Nick Addison was sixth.

As a team, Stanford finished third overall with 97 points. Arizona State edged Oregon State for the team title, 115-114.5.

Logan Ashton, 125 pounds | 2-1 (3rd)

Opponent Result
lost to Jayden Carson (Little Rock) 2-1
dec. #28 Antonio Lorenzo (Cal Poly) 5-2
dec. Jayden Carson (Little Rock) 3-1

Jackson DiSario, 133 pounds | 2-2 (4th)

Opponent Result
dec. Abe Hinrichsen (Cal Poly) 6-2
lost to #4 Michael McGee (Arizona State) 11-4
dec. Jaylen Carson (Little Rock) 6-2
lost to #12 Devan Turner (Oregon State) 6-1

#8 Real Woods, 141 pounds | 2-0 (1st)

Opponent Result
maj. dec. Angelo Martinoni (CSU Bakersfield) 13-0
maj. dec. #15 Grant Willits (Oregon State) 8-0

#12 Jaden Abas, 149 pounds | 1-2 (4th)

Opponent Result
lost to #16 Legend Lamer (Cal Poly) F1:43
fall Josh Brown (CSU Bakersfield) F2:22
lost to #25 Cory Crooks (Oregon State) F6:23

Charlie Darracott, 157 pounds | 3-1 (3rd)

Opponent Result
dec. Brawley Lamer (Cal Poly) 6-3
lost to #15 Hunter Willits (Oregon State) 3-1 (SV)
dec. Chase Tebbets (Little Rock) 8-2
dec. Brock Rogers (CSU Bakersfield) 6-2

#3 Shane Griffith, 165 pounds | 1-1 (2nd)

Opponent Result
dec. #8 Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) 1-0
lost to #1 Evan Wick (Cal Poly) 8-7

#33 Tyler Eischens, 174 pounds | 3-0 (1st)

Opponent Result
dec. Ryan Rochford (Arizona State) 4-1
dec. #27 Aaron Olmos (Oregon State) 4-3
dec. #13 Adam Kemp (Cal Poly) 4-3

Nick Addison, 184 pounds | 0-3 (6th)

Opponent Result
lost to Josh Nummer (Arizona State) F5:43
lost to Jacob Hansen (CSU Bakersfield) 5-0
lost to Tanner Mendoza (Little Rock) 5-4

Nick Stemmet, 197 pounds | 1-2 (4th)

Opponent Result
lost to Ryan Reyes (Oregon State) 10-7
maj. dec. Trent Tracy (Cal Poly) 12-4
lost to Josh Loomer (CSU Bakersfield) F2:12

Peter Ming, 285 pounds | 1-2 (5th)

Opponent Result
lost to Jacob Sieder (CSU Bakersfield) 12-5
lost to Josiah Hill (Little Rock) F6:25
won by forfeit over Sam Aguilar (Cal Poly) FF