Skip to main content

Clarendon To Enter Pac-12 Hall Of Honor

Mar 7, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO – Legendary Cal women's basketball player Layshia Clarendon will be inducted into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor at the Pac-12 Men's Basketball Tournament in Las Vegas later this week.

Clarendon, who ranks fifth on Cal's all-time scoring list, came to Berkeley in the fall of 2009 and immediately made her mark on the program, leading the Bears to a WNIT Championship in 2010. The 5-9 guard from San Bernardino, Calif., would go on to earn several individual accolades while leading the Bears to the program's first-ever Pac-12 championship and Final Four appearance in 2013.  

The 2013 WBCA All-American honorable mention honoree and four-time All-Pac-10/12 selection led the Bears in scoring in 2011-12 and 2012-13, and her 590 points in 2012-13 is currently tied for ninth-most in a single season at Cal. She finished her career with 1,821 points, which rank fifth all-time in program history. Clarendon also finished in the top-10 in at Cal in field goals made (6th,677), assists (8th, 395), 3-point field goals made (6th, 134), and games played at (tied-2nd, 142).

Following her collegiate career, Clarendon was selected ninth overall in the WNBA draft and will be playing in her 10th season this fall for the Minnesota Lynx. Clarendon had a career year with the Lynx last season, appearing in 21 games with 20 starts. Minnesota went 16-5 in those contests, and she averaged 10.4 points, 3.1 rebounds, and 5.7 assists per game.

From 2017 to 2020, Clarendon was a member of the U.S. National Team and helped the United States win gold at the 2018 FIBA Women's World Cup. In 2015, Clarendon was named the Outsports "Female Hero of the Year" for using her platform in support of LGBTQ+ athletes. In 2020, she was named to the WNBA's Social Justice Council.

From 2002-17, the Pac-12 celebrated its men's basketball legends by inducting an annual class of standout coaches and student-athletes into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor. Starting in 2018, the Hall of Honor pivoted to feature legendary figures from an array of sports to be inclusive of the broad-based athletics success celebrated in the Conference of Champions.
Previous Golden Bear inductees into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor are:
2002 – Pete Newell
2003 – Kevin Johnson
2004 – Jason Kidd
2005 – Darrall Imhoff
2006 – Andy Wolfe
2007 – Russ Critchfield
2008 – Charles Johnson
2009 – Nibs Price
2010 – Earl Robinson
2011 – Bob McKeen
2012 – Lamond Murray
2013 – Shareef Abdur-Rahim
2014 – David Butler
2015 – Sean Lampley
2016 – Brian Hendrick
2017 – Jerome Randle
2018 – Matt Biondi
2019 – Natalie Coughlin
2020 – Don Bowden