Skip to main content

He's Got CLASS: Theisen Announced as Top-10 Finalist for Senior CLASS Award

Mar 7, 2022

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.  – Sun Devil Hockey captain Colin Theisen is one of ten NCAA® men's hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice and were selected as finalists for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award® as announced on Monday afternoon. 
To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior or graduate student and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character, and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.
Here's how Theisen fulfills each segment of CLASS:
Theisen earned his degree in finance from Notre Dame this past spring. He is now a graduate transfer at Arizona State, where is pursuing a Mater's of Legal Studies.
Theisen is an AHCA All-American Scholar, as well as a three-time Academic All-Big Ten recipient.
Theisen was named an alternate captain at Note Dame during his final season with the team last year.
Exhibiting both immense hockey and leadership experience, he joined the Sun Devil Hockey's Leadership Group prior to the start of this season and took the helm as captain.
Theisen was a member of the Notre Dame team that received the "2020 Trophy Award" from Notre Dame Gold. It's given to the Notre Dame team that has made the most significant impact on the community through their service efforts.

He has also actively participated in Notre Dame's Movember efforts, which bring awareness to prostate cancer, testicular cancer, and men's mental health.
Theisen, now in his fifth and final season, has played in 177 NCAA games. He boasts career marks of 51 goals and 60 assists for 111 points.
The Fighting Irish appeared in the NCAA Frozen Four during his freshman season but ultimately lost in the championship game. He was named Notre Dame's Rookie of the Year that season. Theisen scored a season-high 11 goals, and would eventually finish the year with a career-high 20 points in a season, as a sophomore. He also tallied 20 points through eight goals and 12 assists the following season.

Theisen had an incredible start to his fifth year with 13 points through 10 games - tied for 7th-most in the nation. He has scored his second career hat-trick this season, when he did so against St. Thomas. He collected his 100th career point against No. 9/11 Northeastern on Jan. 11, 2022. He boasts 10 multi-point games, including three games with three points. He averages 1.15 points per game and tallied a +8 through 33 games played. 
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 
The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 20 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 28. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.
The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men's Frozen Four® in April.
For more information on each of the finalists, visit
2021-22 Senior CLASS Award Men's Hockey Finalists:
Colin Theisen, Arizona State
Nick Blankenburg, Michigan
Wyatt Bongiovanni, Quinnipiac
Zach Driscoll, North Dakota
Quinn Preston, Ohio State
Will Riedell, Ohio State
Graham Slaggert, Notre Dame
Spencer Stastney, Notre Dame
Sammy Walker, Minnesota
Taylor Ward, Omaha
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Kansas City-based Premier Sports Management manages the award.