Skip to main content

Nissen-Emery Award Finalist

Mar 10, 2022

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford senior Brody Malone has been named a finalist for the 2022 Nissen-Emery Award.

Malone joins Hamish Carter (Illinois), Matthew Davis (Army West Point), Charlie Giles (Nebraska), Vitaliy Guimaraes (Oklahoma), Evan Kriley (Nebraska), Jesse Tyndall (Ohio State) and Josh Williams (Naval Academy) as finalists for the prestigious award.

The Nissen-Emery award is given annually to the top senior gymnast in the nation. Recognized as the highest honor in the sport, it will be presented next month at the NCAA Championship Banquet in Norman, Okla.

One of the most decorated gymnasts in Stanford history, Malone is a five-time NCAA individual national champion, having won the all-around and high bar crowns in 2019 and 2021. He also won the floor title as a freshman to become the first Stanford gymnast to win three individual NCAA titles in one season.

The three-time MPSF Gymnast of the Year is the reigning U.S. all-around champion and represented the United States at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics – finishing fourth on horizontal bar and 10th in the all-around. He has also captured a bronze medal on horizontal bar at the 2021 World Championships and earned a trio of medals at the 2022 Cottbus World Cup – including gold on horizontal bar and bronze on parallel bars and pommel horse.

A 12-time All-American, Malone became the fourth Cardinal gymnast in program history to record five All-America honors in one Championship Meet – managing the feat in the 2019 national championship.

Malone carries a 3.29 GPA as a management science and engineering major.

Stanford boasts five previous Nissen-Emery Award recipients, including Akash Modi (2017), Eddie Penev (2013), Dan Gill (2004), Josh Stein (1995) and Steve Hug (1974). Malone is looking to become the fourth honoree mentored by head coach Thom Glielmi joining Modi, Penev and Gill.

The original Nissen Award was named in honor of George Nissen, a former NCAA champion, for his contributions to men's gymnastics. The award was re-named the Nissen-Emery Award in 1998 to honor Dr. Robert Emery, a Penn State graduate, who won the Nissen Award in 1969.

The Nissen-Emery Award is inscribed with the following motto: "The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially, and morally".