Skip to main content

Oregon State Distance Medley Relay Team Finishes Fourth at NCAA Indoor Championships

Mar 11, 2022

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Oregon State distance medley relay team comprised of redshirt junior Kaylee Mitchell, sophomore Adael Scatena, senior Mari Friedman, and redshirt junior Grace Fetherstonhaugh finished fourth to garner First-Team All-America honors to open competition at the NCAA Indoor Championships in Birmingham, Ala. on Friday.  
 
 "Today was a special day for this program," said head coach Louie Quintana. "The four women were so poised and impressive. All of Beaver Nation should be proud of this team. Fourth in the nation doesn't sound too bad."
 
The quartet stopped the clock at 10:58.76 to place fourth overall. The Beavers' time was just a mere second from their current record of 10:57.35 that the same four posted on Feb. 25 to qualify for the national meet. Arkansas won with race with a facility record and season best of 10:51.37.
 
Oregon State scored five points from its performance in the DMR, which is the first time since 1984 when Carina Westover finished sixth in the high jump, that the team has scored at the NCAA Indoor Championships. The Beavers are currently tied for 17th with Oklahoma in the team standings. 
 
Up Next
Mitchell and Fetherstonhaugh are scheduled to compete in the 3000 meters at 8 p.m. CT (6 p.m. PT) on Mar. 12. 

Where to Watch
The NCAA Indoor Championships will be broadcasted live on ESPN3 starting at 11:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. PT) on Saturday. A re-air of the championship will take place on Mar. 13, starting at 9:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. PT).
 
NCAA Indoor Championships
Birmingham, Ala. | Mar. 11-12
Oregon State Results
 
Friday, Mar. 11
Distance Medley Relay
4. Kaylee Mitchell, Adael Scatena, Mari Friedman, Grace Fetherstonhaugh – 10:58.76
  
Remaining Oregon State Schedule 
Saturday, Mar. 12
8:00 p.m. CT (6:00 p.m. PT) – 3000m
Grace Fetherstonhaugh
Kaylee Mitchell