Skip to main content

UCLA Rowing’s Varsity Eight Crew Defeats USC

Mar 13, 2022
UCLA's varsity eight crew defeated USC (photo by Jesus Ramirez)

MARINA DEL REY, Calif. – The UCLA women's rowing team opened its spring racing season with a crosstown dual meet against USC on Sunday morning at the Marina Aquatic Center.
The Bruins' varsity eight crew recorded a first-place finish against USC, posting a final time of 6:12.29. The Bruins' boat crossed the finish line 1.44 seconds ahead of the Women of Troy.
"I am proud of these athletes for their resilience in the face of highs, lows and the general rigor that comes with the season," said interim head coach Previn Chandraratna. "Our varsity eight win helped to validate the hard work our whole team has put in and it validates the process itself. We want to keep things in perspective. This is race number one of our season with many weeks remaining to develop this young group."
By points, USC won the dual-meet race by a point score of 3.5 to 3. Races carry a varying point total, with the varsity eight victory worth three points, the second varsity eight worth two, the varsity four equaling one point and the third varsity eight at one-half of a point.
USC registered first-place finishes in the first three races of the morning. The Women of Troy won the second varsity eight race, the varsity four race and the third varsity eight race.
UCLA's second varsity eight crew registered a final time of 6:41.21, crossing the finish line less than six seconds behind USC (6:35.45).
USC's varsity four crew posted a final racing time of 7:14.48, ahead of UCLA's 7:28.90.
The morning races began with the third varsity eight race, and the Women of Troy recorded a racing time of 6:48.23. UCLA crossed the finish line in 6:57.38.
At the conclusion of Sunday's races, both USC's team was presented with the Amy Fuller Kearney-Lori Guerrero Azbill Trophy. This trophy will continue to be awarded each season to the winning team in the crosstown rivalry. UCLA also recognized six seniors in the rowing program – five student-athletes and one student manager – for their hard work and dedication over the past four seasons.
UCLA will return to action in two weeks at the two-day San Diego Crew Classic. Racing at Mission Bay is scheduled for Saturday, March 26 and Sunday, March 27.
Sunday's Racing Results
Third Varsity Eight
1. USC – 6:48.23
2. UCLA – 6:57.38
Varsity Four
1. USC – 7:14.48
2. UCLA – 7:28.90
Second Varsity Eight
1. USC – 6:35.45
2. UCLA – 6:41.21
Varsity Eight
1. UCLA – 6:12.29
2. USC – 6:13.73
Sunday's Racing Lineups
UCLA's Varsity Eight (V8+): (stroke) Rosemary Varney, (7) Irene Ulitsky, (6) Olivia Hay, (5) Emily Sutherland, (4) Mia Glinn, (3) Sarah Coufal, (2) Olivia Caesar, (bow) Sara Mittman, (coxswain) Sydney Page.
Second Varsity Eight (2V8+): (stroke) Paula Jaramillo, (7) Lucy Holgate, (6) Jade Raby, (5) Polly Wenlock, (4) Elsa Couvillon, (3) Margaux Bomsta, (2) Jane DiLauro, (bow) Audrey Petersen, (coxswain) Sofia Papini.
Varsity Four (V4+): (stroke) Danielle Hoekstra, (3) Ella O'Neil, (2) Paige Ortzman, (bow) Austyn Sirmon, (coxswain) Jianna Ursitti.
Third Varsity Eight (3V8+): (stroke) Brianna Wray, (7) Giselle Coulter, (6) Julia Adey, (5) Sophie Kruse, (4) Sophie Frey, (3) Taline Krumian, (2) Siobhan Lewis, (bow) Sydney Matas, (coxswain) Ella Van Fleet.