Skip to main content

No. 16 UCLA Rowing Concludes Day One in San Diego

Mar 26, 2022
UCLA competed at the San Diego Crew Classic on Saturday (photo by Don Liebig)

SAN DIEGO – The No. 16-ranked UCLA women's rowing program completed four races on Saturday during the first day of the San Diego Crew Classic at Mission Bay. All four crews for the Bruins advanced to 'A' finals, scheduled for Sunday morning.
The Bruins' second varsity eight finished in third place in a race that featured eight crews. UCLA's novice eight rowed to a second-place finish out of six boats. The Bruins' varsity eight finished fifth in its morning heat, while the varsity four registered a fourth-place finish.
"Four boats, four A finals," said UCLA interim head coach Previn Chandraratna. "That's always the first goal, especially with such a green group. We certainly can and will step up our intensity and execution on day two."
UCLA's races on Sunday, the second day of racing at the San Diego Crew Classic, are slated to begin at approximately 9:19 a.m. (PT).
On day one, the Bruins' second varsity eight posted a final time of 7:13.354, crossing the finish line third. California (6:55.154) and USC (6:55.666) were narrowly closer finishers in the first and second place spots, respectively. UCLA crossed the finish line ahead of Oklahoma by more than six seconds. Rounding out the eight crews included San Diego, Sacramento State, Marist and Portland.
The Bruins' varsity eight crew recorded a final time of 7:07.112, finishing in fifth place. Texas won the varsity eight race with a time of 6:43.845, while California recorded a second-place finish (6:47.958). Washington finished third (6:56.635) and USC was fourth (6:58.953). UCLA's competitors in the varsity eight race included four top-ranked programs in No. 1 Texas, No. 5 Washington, No. 9 California and No. 15 USC.
UCLA's novice eight logged a second-place finish in the Bruins' fourth and final race on Saturday. The Bruins' crew recorded a final racing time of 7:21.842, crossing the finish line just over seven seconds behind Washington (7:14.448). British Columbia finished in third place (7:30.240), San Diego finished fourth (7:35.119) and Oklahoma and Loyola Marymount rounded out the final two crews, respectively.
The Bruins' varsity four crew finished in fourth place with a time of 8:09.062, crossing the finish line behind Texas (7:35.318), California (7:41.910) and Gonzaga (8:03.664). UCLA finished ahead of MIT (8:27.781) and Sacramento State (8:28.445).
UCLA will return to action at the San Diego Crew Classic on Sunday with races for the two varsity eight crews, the varsity four crew and novice eight crew. The Bruins' V8+ crew will race at 9:19 a.m., while the 2V8+ crew will compete at 10:47 a.m. UCLA's V4+ crew will take to the water at 10:23 a.m.. The N8+ boat will conclude the Bruins' Sunday races at 11:11 a.m.
Saturday's Racing Results
Varsity Eight (10:47 a.m., start time)
1. Texas – 6:43.845
2. California – 6:47.958
3. Washington – 6:56.635
4. USC – 6:58.953
5. UCLA – 7:07.112
Second Varsity Eight (11:59 a.m., start time)
1. California – 6:55.154
2. USC – 6:55.666
3. UCLA – 7:13.354
4. Oklahoma – 7:19.779
5. San Diego – 7:25.906
6. Sacramento State – 7:27.891
7. Marist – 7:37.908
8. Portland – 7:39.350
Varsity Four (11:51 a.m., start time)
1. Texas – 7:35.318
2. California – 7:41.910
3. Gonzaga – 8:03.664
4. UCLA – 8:09.062
5. MIT – 8:27.781
6. Sacramento State – 8:28.445
Novice Eight (12:31 p.m., start time)
1. Washington – 7:14.448
2. UCLA – 7:21.842
3. British Columbia – 7:30.240
4. San Diego – 7:35.119
5. Oklahoma – 7:35.238
6. Loyola Marymount – 8:15.684
Saturday's Racing Lineups
Varsity Eight: (stroke) Rosemary Varney, (7) Irene Ulitsky, (6) Olivia Hay, (5) Emily Sutherland, (4) Mia Glinn, (3), Sara Mittman, (2) Olivia Caesar, (bow) Lucy Holgate, (coxswain) Sydney Page.
Second Varsity Eight: (stroke) Paula Jaramillo, (7) Polly Wenlock, (6) Ellen Ulitsky, (5) Margaux Bomsta, (4) Jade Raby, (3) Austyn Sirmon, (2) Jane DiLauro, (bow) Audrey Petersen, (coxswain) Sofia Papini.
Varsity Four: (stroke) Brianna Wray, (3) Julia Adey, (2) Paige Ortzman, (bow) Sophie Kruse, (coxswain) Jianna Ursitti.
Novice Eight: (stroke) Sophie Frey, (7) Giselle Coulter, (6) Elsa Couvillon, (5) Ashley Kraynak, (4) Siobhan Lewis, (3) Taline Krumian, (2) Sophia Manos, (bow) Sydney Matas, (coxswain) Ella Van Fleet.