Skip to main content

UCS Rowing Finishes First Day of the San Diego Crew Classic

Mar 26, 2022

SAN DIEGO—The USC women's rowing team had a strong day of racing on the first day of competition, today (March 26) at the 49th annual San Diego Crew Classic on the waters of Mission Bay. Because of their stellar performances, the Trojans will have the opportunity to race in all four of the grand finals tomorrow (March 27).

"We had a great set of preliminary races today.," said head coach Josh Adam. " All of our boats are in grand finals. And everyone improved their lane assignments. Tomorrow is going to be a fast day of racing. We're excited to get out there again."

For a full list of results and boatings, see below.
Kicking off the morning, the Trojans punched their ticket to the grand final for the Women's Collegiate V8+ Jessop-Whittier Cup. Historically, the Women of Troy have been extremely successful in this race as USC won five-straight titles between the years of 2011-2015. Coxed by Eden Cooper-Squires, USC placed fourth in their heat with a time of 6:58.953. This time was 2 seconds behind of third place Washington (6:55.531). USC will compete in the grand final tomorrow. Jenna Van De Grift stroked for USC and was seated with Ludovica Braglia, Annabel Aron, Cecilie Brünnich Sørensen, Ieva Medelinskaite, Claudia Cabula, Grete Alttoa and in the bow Zoe McCutcheon.

Up next was the Varsity 4+. Guided by coxswain Lillian Lau, USC came in first place in their heat with a time of 7:39.377, ten seconds ahead of second place, Washington. Fiona Batstone powered the stroke, followed by Jane Cox, Jemima "Mimi" Morgan, Jane Cox and Sonja Washburn in the bow.

Then was the 2V8+ event, USC's second varsity eight placed second in their heat with a time of 6:55.666 which advanced them to the grand final. Olivia Lau coxed the boat with Celia Marino in the stroke. Marino was followed by Ingrid Brast, Anastasia Slivina, Anna Molnar, Evita Franckevica, Ryleigh Megill, Clare Widzgowski and Isabella Lysaker in the bow.

The final race of the day was the third varsity eight. Coxed by Maddy Kim, USC placed fifth in its heat with a time of 7:08.887. This time was six seconds behind fourth place Baja California St (7:02.144). Chiara Meakin stroked for USC and was seated with Caitlin McTygue, Rhese Abrams, Ezi Emenike, Irene Brown, Annika Crvarich, Sarah Panek and in the bow Jessie Davila.

The Trojans have a full day of racing tomorrow (March 27). They will begin the day with the Women's Collegiate Varsity Jessop-Whittier Cup Invitational Final at 9:19 a.m. Up next will be the Women's Collegiate Varsity 4+ Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup Final at 10:23 a.m., followed by the Women's Collegiate 2V Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy Final at 10:47 a.m. The Trojans will then race in the Women's Open 8+ Carley Coopley Cup Final (3V) at 12:31 a.m. to conclude the weekend.
For a complete schedule and race results, please visit 

Mission Bay | San Diego, Calif.
March 26-27, 2022

Sunday, March 25
8:24 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Varsity Grand Final (Jessop-Whitter Cup)
10:23 a.m. - Women's Collegiate V4+ Grand Final (Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup)
10:47 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 2V8+ Grand Final (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness)
12:31 a.m. - Women's Open 3V8+ (Carley Coopley Cup Final)

VARSITY EIGHT Varsity Four Second Varsity Eight Third Varsity Eight
1 06:43.845 Texas Austin 1 07:39.377 USC 1 06:55.154 California 1 06:41.124 Texas Austin
2  06:47.958 California  2 07:49.465 Washington 2 06:55.666 USC 2 06:47.987 California
3 06:56.635 Washington 3 08:05.742 Oklahoma 3 07:13.354 UCLA 3 06:54.267 Washington
4 06:58.953 USC 4 08:12.413 San Diego 4 07.19.779 Oklahoma 4 07:02.144 Baja California
5 07:07.112 UCLA 5 08:33.227 UC San Diego 5 07:25.906 San Diego 5 07:08.887 USC 
6 08:39.475 Old Dominion  6 07:27.891 Sacramento St 6 07:19.201 U of Calgary RC
7 08:43.738 Portland 7 07:37.908 Marist 7 07:36.901 Bates
8 07:39.350 Portland
Cox Eden Cooper-Squires Cox Olivia Lau Cox Maddy Kim Cox Lillian Lau
Stk. Jenna Van de Grift Stk. Celia Marino Stk. Chiara Meakin Fiona Batstone
Ludovica Braglia 7 Ingrid Brast 7 Caitlin McTygue 3 Jane Cox
6 Annabel Aron 6 Anastasia Slivina 6 Rhese Abrams 2 Jemima "Mimi" Morgan
5 Cecilie Brünnich Sørensen 5 Anna Molnar 5 Ezi Emenike Bow Sonja Washburn
4 Ieva Medlinskaite Evita Franckevica 4 Irene Brown
Claudia Cabula 3 Ryleigh Megill 3 Annika Crvarich
2 Grete Alttoa 2 Clare Widzgowski 2 Sarah Panek
Bow Zoe McCutcheon Bow Isabella Lysaker Bow Jessie Davila