Skip to main content

Tommy Lloyd Named NABC National Coach of the Year

Mar 29, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – The NABC announced its top Division I award winners on Tuesday, headlined by Arizona's Tommy Lloyd earning NABC Division I Coach of the Year honors as voted on by NABC-member coaches across NCAA Division I.
Lloyd helped Arizona to a 33-4 overall record in 2021-22 and a 18-2 mark in Pac-12 play, winning the regular season by three games over UCLA. The Wildcats also went on to capture the Pac-12 Tournament crown and Lloyd was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. Arizona earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament and advanced to the Sweet 16 with wins over Wright State and TCU on the opening weekend. The 33 wins are 16 more than last season and the third-most in program history.
As a team, Arizona set new program records for assists and blocked shots while Bennedict Mathurin was a consensus second team all-American and Pac-12 Player of the Year. Christian Koloko tied the Arizona single-season record with 102 blocked shots and was named Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and Most Improved Player of the Year while joining Mathurin and teammate Azuolas Tubelis on the First Team All Pac-12. Dalen Terry was a honorable mention all-conference performer and a member of the all-defensive team while finishing 12th in the country in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.84).
Arizona led the country in assists per game (19.6), total assists (726) and total rebounds (1,531). The Wildcats also ranked among the top 10 in the country in field goal percentage (5th), free throw attempts (4th), free throws made (3rd), rebound margin (9th), scoring margin (3rd), scoring offense (3rd), total blocks (4th).
Lloyd is the first Arizona coach to be named National Coach of the Year by the NABC dating back to when the award started in 1959. Former Arizona coach, the late Lute Olson, received the honor in 1980 as the head coach at Iowa.