Skip to main content

Schultz, Parco Collect Pac-12 Awards

Apr 5, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO - Two of the Pac-12 Conference's highest honors have been awarded to Sun Devils Cohlton Schultz and Kyle Parco. Schultz, the 2022 conference heavyweight champion and national heavyweight runner up, earned Wrestler of the Year. Parco, who transferred to ASU ahead of the 2021-22 season before earning Pac-12 gold at 149 and finishing as an All-American, collected the Newcomer of the Year award. Schultz is the second Sun Devil under Zeke Jones to earn WOTY (Zahid Valencia, 2017-2019). Parco is the second under Jones to earn NOTY (Valencia '17, Kordell Norfleet '18).
Pac-12 All-Time Record Book
Schultz has become one of the greatest wrestlers to wear a Maroon and Gold singlet in recent years. The Parker, Colorado, native won his second consecutive Pac-12 heavyweight title this season and went on to finish second at the NCAA Championships, becoming an All-American for the second-straight season in the process. Schultz was also awarded the Gorriaran Award for having the most pins in the least time at the NCAA tournament. He's the third Sun Devil to collect the award after Charles Tribble in 1965 and Curley Culp in '67. Schultz went 22-1 this year with eight pins and five major decisions. On the international stage Schultz made the USA Greco Senior World Team last fall and is preparing to reclaim his spot in a few short weeks.

Parco has been an absolutely electric addition to the Sun Devils' lineup. The Danville, Calif., native came to ASU following Fresno State discontinuing its wrestling program. Parco went 19-1 in the regular season at 149 before claiming his first Pac-12 title. He went on to earn his second All-America nod with an eighth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. He earned two pins, six major decisions, and a pair of tech fall victories in his first year as a Sun Devil - and who could forget his glorious #ParcoBomb against Jonathan Millner to start the year?