Skip to main content

Isaiah Mobley Named Team MVP At USC Men's Basketball Banquet

Apr 14, 2022

LOS ANGELES-- USC junior Isaiah Mobley received the Sam Barry Award as the team's most valuable player and the Bob Boyd Award as the team's top rebounder during the 2021-22 USC men's basketball awards banquet held at the USC Hotel Grand Ballroom today (April 14).  Senior Chevez Goodwin was the other Trojan to take home two awards, receiving the John Rudometkin Award for 110 percent effort and the Ernie Holbrook Award for the most inspirational player.

The Trojans tied the school single-season wins record by going 26-8, finishing third in the Pac-12 and advancing to the 2022 NCAA Tournament.  Mobley was a key part of that success, leading USC with averages of 14.2 points and 8.3 rebounds per game.  The Trojan MVP Mobley also led the team with 29 blocks, was second with 24 steals, 106 assists and 1089 minutes played.  Mobley was named to the Pac-12 All-Conference first team and he was named honorable mention on the Pac-12 All-Defensive team.  Mobley's brother Evan, who is playing with the Cleveland Cavaliers now, was the recipient of the same awards at the 2021 USC team banquet.

Goodwin's hustle and heart was evident all season and earned him the John Rudometkin and Enie Holbrook Awards.  The graduate student avereaged 11.0 points and 6.4 rebounds, while starting all 34 games.  Goodwin was second in rebounding and fourth in scoring for the 2022 Trojans.  Goodwin's valuable presence was noted mid-season when the coaching staff elevated him to a team captain.

Fellow graduate student Isaiah White was co-winner of the Ernie Holbrook Award for most inspirational.  White battled through several injuries to play in 24 games and averaged 3.0 points and 2.2 rebounds.  He was always one of the toughest defenders and displayed constant hustle when on the court.

Senior guard Drew Peterson averaged 12.4 points, 6.2 rebound and 3.3 assists to earn the Harold Jones Memorial Award as USC's most improved player.  Peterson made 46.7 percent of his field goals and 41.2 percent of his shots from three-point range.  He led USC with 113 assists, was second on the team with 76 free throws made and was third in rebounding and scoring.  Peterson joined Goodwin as the only Trojans to start all 34 games.  He also was named to the Pac-12 Conference first team.

Freshman guard Reese Dixon-Waters earned the team's Bill Sharman Award for the best free throw percentage.  Dixon-Waters had an 86.4 free throw percentage, making 38 of 44 attempts during the season.  Dixon-Waters kept improving throughout the season and ended with averages of 4.8 points and 1.8 rebounds per game.  Dixon-Waters scored a career-high 16 points in USC's NCAA Tournament game against Miami, making 5 of 6 field goals.

Fellow freshman Kobe Johnson earned the Forrest F. Twogood Memorial Award as the Trojans' top defensive player.  Johnson had 16 steals and five blocks in 203 minutes of action.  He played in 27 games and averaged 1.2 points and 1.0 rebounds.  He showed what he is capable of with five steals in 12 minutes at Oregon State on Feb. 24.

Freshman Harrison Hornery was named the recipient of the Ryan Francis Scholarship Award as the underclassman who made an impact on the team through the example he set on and off the court, and about what it means to be a Trojan.  Hornery played in 12 games and averaged 1.6 points and 0.9 rebounds.  He showed why big things are expected of him by helping USC overcome a 13-point second-half deficit vs. Pacific on February 8, hitting three momentum-swinging three-pointers in USC's 74-68 comeback victory.

Reserve senior guard Reggie Parris was honored with the Dr. James H. Zumberge Academic Award for the highest GPA on the team.  Parris graduated with a 3.97 GPA in Business from the Marshall School of Business.

USC 2021-22 Team Award Winners

DR. JAMES H ZUMBERGE ACADEMIC AWARD (Highest GPA)  -  Reggie Parris (3.97)

BILL SHARMAN AWARD (Best Free Throw Percentage) - Reese Dixon-Waters (86.4 percent)

BOB BOYD AWARD (Top Rebounder) - Isaiah Mobley (8.3 RPG, 267 Total Rebounds)

JOHN RUDOMETKIN AWARD (110 percent effort) - Chevez Goodwin

FORREST F. TWOGOOD MEMORIAL AWARD (Best Defensive Player) - Kobe Johnson

HAROLD JONES MEMORIAL AWARD (Most Improved) - Drew Peterson

RYAN FRANCIS SCHOLARSHIP AWARD (underclassman who made an impact through example) - Harrison Hornery

ERNIE HOLBROOK MEMORIAL AWARD (Most Inspirational Player) - Chevez Goodwin & Isaiah White

SAM BARRY AWARD (Most Valuable Player) - Isaiah Mobley
# # # #