Skip to main content

Jenny Simpson Named To Inaugural USTFCCCA Collegiate Athletics Hall Of Fame

Apr 14, 2022

NEW ORLEANS – Former Colorado track and field star Jenny (Barringer) Simpson has been named to the inaugural United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Collegiate Hall of Fame, the association announced Thursday.
Simpson won four NCAA championships, three in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and one in the indoor 3,000, during her collegiate career. She broke six NCAA records and seven school records in 2009 alone, several of which still stand today, including the 5,000-meter record. Simpson is still the only woman to post under four minutes (3:59.89) in the 1,500 in NCAA history, which she ran at the prestigious Prefontaine Classic, finishing second to Ethiopia's Gelete Burka by 0.01 seconds. She was the only collegiate athlete in the race.
While competing collegiately, she also enjoyed success on the international stage, mostly in the steeplechase, making two world teams and competing at the Olympic Games in 2008. Following graduation, she was named the inaugural winner of the Bowerman Award and was later named the recipient of the Jackie Joyner-Kersee Award.
She won the 2011 World Championship in the 1,500 and was the silver medalist in 2013 and 2017. Simpson captured an Olympic medal in 2016 when she won the bronze medal in the 1,500 in Rio. Simpson has won a total of nine USA track championships.
Simpson is one of 30 athletes in the inaugural class and the only one to win the Bowerman. Eligibility for the induction was limited to men that finished their career before 2000 and women before 2010. Simpson is one of nine women inducted and joins fellow rival Sally Kipyego and ASU standout Jackie Johnson as the only women that competed in the 2000s.
The induction class, which was comprised of athletes based solely on their collegiate accomplishments, have a combined 205 NCAA titles, 99 world records and 19 Olympic Gold Medals.
The ceremony will be held June 6 at 8:30 p.m. MT in Eugene, Ore., at the Hult Center for the Performing Arts and is free and open to the public. The class will be honored at the 100th edition of the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships June 8-11.  
2022 USTFCCCA Collegiate Athletics Hall of Fame Inaugural Class

Athlete Team Events Years Active Hometown
Jenny Barringer Colorado Mid-Distance/Distance 2005-2009 Oviedo, Fla.
Ralph Boston Tennessee State Jumps/Hurdles 1958-1961 Laurel, Miss.
Ron Delany Villanova Mid-Distance 1955-1958 Arklow, Ireland
Harrison Dillard Baldwin Wallace Hurdles/Sprints 1942-1943, 1946-1948 Cleveland, Ohio
Suzy Favor Wisconsin Mid-Distance 1986-1990 Stevens Point, Wis.
Charlie Greene Nebraska Sprints 1964-1967 Seattle, Wash.
Carlette Guidry Texas Sprints/Jumps 1988-1991 Houston, Texas
DeHart Hubbard Michigan Jumps/Sprints 1922-1925 Cincinnati, Ohio
Vicki Huber Villanova Distances 1985-1989 Wilmington, Del.
Jackie Johnson Arizona State Combined Events 2004, 2006-2008 Yuma, Ariz.
Jackie Joyner UCLA C.E./Jumps/Hurdles 1981-1983, 1985 East St. Louis, Ill.
Sally Kipyego Texas Tech Distances 2005-2009 Marakwet, Kenya
Carl Lewis Houston Sprints/Jumps 1980-1981 Willingboro Township, N.J.
Gerry Lindgren Washington State Distances 1965-1969 Spokane, Wash.
Randy Matson Texas A&M Throws 1964-1967 Pampa, Texas
Ralph Metcalfe Marquette Sprints 1931-1934 Chicago, Ill.
Rodney Milburn Southern Hurdles 1970-1973 Opelousas, La.
Bobby Morrow Abilene Christian Sprints 1955-1958 San Benito, Texas
Suleiman Nyambui UTEP Mid-Distance/Distance 1978-1982 Majita Musoma, Tanzania
Billy Olson Abilene Christian Jumps 1978-1982 Abilene, Texas
Merlene Ottey Nebraska Sprints 1980-1984 Hayes, Jamaica
Jesse Owens Ohio State Sprints/Jumps 1934-1936 Cleveland, Ohio
Mel Patton Southern California Sprints 1946-1949 Los Angeles, Calif.
Steve Prefontaine Oregon Distances 1969-1973 Coos Bay, Ore.
Meg Ritchie Arizona Throws 1980-1983 Kirkalcdy, Scotland
Henry Rono Washington State Distances 1976-1979 Nandi Hills, Kenya
Wilma Rudolph Tennessee State Sprints 1959-1963 Clarksville, Tenn.
Jim Ryun Kansas Mid-Distance 1966-1969 Wichita, Kan.
Erick Walder Arkansas Jumps 1991-1994 Mobile, Ala.
John Woodruff Pittsburgh 800/400 1936-1939 Connellsville, Pa.