Skip to main content

Joyner-Kersee Named to USTFCCCA Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame

Apr 14, 2022
From left: UCLA Director of Track & Field/Cross Country Avery Anderson, Jackie Joyner-Kersee

New Orleans, La. – Jackie Joyner-Kersee has been named to the inaugural class of the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame, the organization announced Thursday.
The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Hult Center for the Performing Arts in Eugene, Ore., ahead of the 2022 NCAA Outdoor Championships. The event is slated for Monday, June 6 at 7:30 p.m. PT.
Joyner-Kersee helped lead the UCLA women's track and field program to national championships in 1982 and 1983, winning the heptathlon title both years. To this day, she still holds UCLA program records in the heptathlon (6390 pts) and long jump (23-09.00). She went on to win six medals across four appearances in the Olympics, including a trio of golds.
Joyner-Kersee was also a star forward on the UCLA women's basketball team, scoring over 1,100 points and helping the Bruins to a pair of NCAA Tournament appearances (1983, 1985). She was named one of the program's 15 greatest players in 1998.
The inaugural class for the Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame is a collection of titans in the sport of track & field. Joyner-Kersee joins fellow legends such as Jenny Barringer (Colorado), Carl Lewis (Houston), Jesse Owens (Ohio State), Wilma Rudolph (Tennessee State), and Jim Ryun (Kansas). The class was selected based on elite accomplishments from the athletes solely during their time in college.
This is the second prestigious accolade for Joyner-Kersee in recent weeks, as she was inducted into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor in early March.
Inaugural Class – USTFCCCA Collegiate Athlete Hall of Fame
Jenny Barringer (Colorado), Ralph Boston (Tennessee State), Rob Delany (Villanova), Harrison Dillard (Baldwin Wallace), Suzy Favor (Wisconsin), Charlie Greene (Nebraska), Carlette Guidry (Texas), DeHart Hubbard (Michigan), Vicki Huber (Villanova), Jackie Johnson (Arizona State), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (UCLA), Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech), Carl Lewis (Houston), Gerry Lindgren (Washington State), Randy Matson (Texas A&M), Ralph Metcalfe (Marquette), Rodney Milburn (Southern), Bobby Morrow (Abilene Christian), Sleiman Nyambui (UTEP), Billy Olson (Abilene Christian), Merlene Ottey (Nebraska), Jesse Owens (Ohio State), Mel Patton (USC), Steve Prefontaine (Oregon), Meg Ritchie (Arizona), Henry Rono (Washington State), Wilma Rudolph (Tennessee State), Jim Ryun (Kansas), Erick Walder (Arkansas), John Woodruff (Pittsburgh)