Skip to main content

Bears Face Strong Field At Pac-12 Championships

Apr 16, 2022

The Cal women's golf team gets its final chance to make an impression before the NCAA Regionals this week when it competes at the 2022 Pac-12 Championships at Eugene Country Club.

The Bears are currently ranked No. 51 nationally and are in solid position to earn a trip to NCAAs, which is made up of 72 teams spread across six, 12-team regionals.

The competition at the Pac-12 Championships is an ideal way to get ready for the national tournament – the conference features four teams ranked in the Golfweek top-10, six in the top-25 and eight in the top-50 (with the Bears just outside at No. 51).

"It's just another gauge to see how we are doing on a national level," Cal head coach Nancy McDaniel said. "Every Pac-12 school for women's golf is really solid. So even if you finish seventh, eighth or ninth, you're still a top-50 team in the country."

The Bears are hoping to continue a recent trend in which they improve their score with each passing round of a tournament. In each of their past two events, they have shot a lower score than the previous round each time. In both tournaments, their team score in the final round was 16 strokes better than the first round.

"When you see flashes of really solid play throughout 18 holes, whether it be in the first round or the third round, or just a string of 18 holes, those are things you really try to look to build on," McDaniel said. "It shows what the team is capable of."

Junior Tzu-Yi Chang is Cal's top qualifier for the Pac-12 Championships after leading the Bears with a 28th place finish at the Bears' last event, the Silverado Showdown. It was an encouraging showing for Chang, who has only been part of Cal's lineup three times this season because of injuries.

The Pac-12 Championships runs Monday through Wednesday on the par-72, 6,267-yard course in Eugene. Action tees off at 9 a.m. for the first two rounds and 8:30 a.m. for Wednesday's final round.

1. Tzu-Yi Chang
2. Mika Jin
3. Jasmine Lew
4. Eun Soo Jeon
5. Jieming Yang