Skip to main content

Three from Sun Devil Golf Selected to Palmer Cup

Apr 19, 2022

NORMAN, Okla. – Sun Devil Women's Golf's Alexandra Forsterling and Calynne Rosholt were selected to participate alongside Sun Devil Men's Golf's James Leow in the 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup, taking place July 1-3 at Golf Club de Genève in Geneva. 

For the fifth consecutive year, Sun Devil Golf will be represented at the premier international amateur event featuring only collegiate golfers. This time, both the men's and women's programs will send participants to compete in the first Palmer Cup ever held in Switzerland.

"We are thrilled to have two terrific Sun Devils make the Palmer Cup International squad along with their men's team teammate James Leow," Sun Devil Women's Golf Head Coach Missy Farr-Kaye remarked. "It is such a great accomplishment. To have both Alexandra and Calynne make the team as rankings selections is very special."

The top six golfers from the final Palmer Cup Ranking from both the United States and International men and women automatically qualified for selection. The rest of the field was determined by the Palmer Cup committee, with a total of 24 golfers named to each team. They will compete in the Ryder Cup-style international collegiate event between the United States and International Team.

Alexandra Forsterling was one of six International female rankings selections, finishing No. 1 in the final Palmer Cup International rankings. Calynne Rosholt was one of six United States female rankings selections, finishing No. 5 in the final Palmer Cup American Rankings. James Leow will be the first competitor from Singapore, earning a spot on the International team as a coach's pick, chosen by Cal Poly and International team Head Coach Phil Rowe.

Rosholt joins men's golf's Jeff Quinney (2001) as the only Sun Devils to get selected to the United States' team, with both programs known for their ability to attract and develop International golfers.  

In the 2020 Palmer Cup, Sun Devil Women's Golf's Linn Grant and Olivia Mehaffey along with Team International earned the win in the 24th edition of the Arnold Palmer Cup, defeating Team USA by a final tally of 40.5-19.5.
The International side claimed 14 of the 24 points up for grabs during the singles matches on the final day to seal the victory. The win trims the United States all-time lead in the series to 12-11-1. It is the second straight win for the International side on American turf.
Grant (Sweden) and Mehaffey (Ireland) were key contributors to the win, with their consistent play allowing the International Team to maintain a healthy lead throughout the tournament. After jumping out to a 9-3 advantage after the Mixed Fourball competition on the first day, the International side never looked back, cruising to a victory at Arnold Palmer Bay Hill Club and Lodge. Sun Devil Men's Golf's David Puig (Spain) was also a member of the victorious International Team.

Alexandra Forsterling (2022)
Calynne Rosholt (2022)
James Leow (2022)
Linn Grant
David Puig (2020 & 2021)
Olivia Mehaffey (2018 & 2020)
Chun An Yu (2019)
Alex del Rey (2019)
Jon Rahm (2014 & 2015)
Max Rottluff (2015)
Jesper Kennegard (2010)
James Byrne (2010)
Stephan Gross (2009)
Alejandro Canizares (2003, 2004, 2005, & 2006)
Jeff Quinney (2001)

The Arnold Palmer Cup was co-founded by Arnold Palmer and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) and began at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando, Fla., in 1997. The event is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top men's and women's university/college golfers matching the United States against a team of International players. The Palmer Cup has been played at some of the world's greatest courses, including The Old Course at St. Andrews, The Royal County Down, Royal Portrush, Baltusrol, The Honors Course, and Cherry Hills. Beginning with the 2018 matches at Evian Resort Golf Club, the Arnold Palmer Cup is the only major tournament which features men and women playing side-by-side as partners.

Since its inception, over 125 former Arnold Palmer Cup alumni have gone on to earn cards on the PGA, European, or LPGA Tours; 32 have represented Europe or the USA in the Ryder Cup, Presidents Cup, or Solheim Cup and more than 65 have claimed over 285 victories on the PGA, European, or LPGA Tours, including three major champions in both 2020 and 2021. The United States leads the Palmer Cup series 13-11-1.


Founded in 1922, Golf Club de Genève features a course designed in 1973 by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. and fully renovated by his son Robert Trent Jones, Jr. in 2018. A par 72 that plays to 6,821 yards, the course offers views of the city, Lake Geneva, the iconic Mont Blanc and the surrounding Alps. Since 1989 this inspiring setting has hosted the Challenge Tour's Rolex Trophy, a prize won by three Palmer Cup alumni: Alex Norén, Nacho Elvira, and Pedro Oriol. The Club also hosted the 1975 European Junior Championship, the 1982 Espirito Santo Trophy, and several Swiss International matches.

No. 7 Sun Devil Women's Golf is competing at the 2022 Pac-12 Championship, hosted at Eugene Country Club in Oregon.

Arizona State is in the midst of arguably the toughest tournament they have played in so far, as the nation's most competitive conference hosts its annual championship. The event spans three days, with 54-hole stroke play competition taking place at Eugene Country Club for the fourth time.

Not only is the Pac-12 Championship on the line, but rivalry bragging rights are as well. The highest finisher between Arizona State and Arizona at this event will be awarded a critical Territorial Cup Series point. ASU claimed the point last year by virtue of a third-place finish. 

The Arnold Palmer Cup social media channels will have coverage of the event on Twitter & Instagram (@ArnoldPalmerCup) as well as their Facebook ( For the latest updates and information on the Sun Devil Women's Golf program, follow our Twitter/Instagram accounts (@SunDevilWGolf), like our Facebook page (, and visit our website (