Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to technical maintenance.

Men's Golf Heads to Washington for Pac-12 Championships April 25-27

Apr 20, 2022

The 2022 #Pac12Golf Men's Championships -- hosted by the University of Washington -- are set for April 25-27 at Aldarra Golf Club (par 72/6,979 yards) in Sammamish, WA, just outside of Seattle. Daily highlights will be featured across Pac-12 Network, and Pac-12 social media channels, culminating with a special half-hour recap on Pac-12 Network on Thursday, April 28 at 7:00 p.m. PT.

The three-day, 6-count-5, 72-hole stroke play competition will play at par-71 and 6,979 yards for its first staging at Sammamish's Aldarra GC and Washington's eighth turn as Conference Championships host (1961, 1969, 1976, 1980, 1989, 1999, 2009).

In the 61 prior stagings of the Pac-12 Championships, the host has won 16 times - most recently USC in 2018. Prior to that, Washington won the last time it hosted the event in 2009 at Seattle Golf Club (UW was slated to host at Seattle GC in 2020, an event canceled by the COVID-19 pandemic).

Split tee times will be utilized beginning at 7 a.m. and 12 p.m. PT for Monday's 36 holes, 10 a.m. for Tuesday's third round, and 7 a.m. for Wednesday's final round. ASU will tee with Stanford at Washington State starting at 7:05 a.m. off No. 10.

Half of the 12-team field appears in the top-50 of the latest Golfweek Top-50 Team Rankings, headlined by top-10 programs No. 4 ASU and host No. 8 Washington. The Sun Devils will be seeking their first Pac-12 title since 2008, while the Huskies last won with back-to-back crowns in 2009 and 2010, under current Sun Devil head coach Matt Thurmond

Golfweek Top 50 Collegiate Ranked Pac-12 Teams

  • No. 4 Arizona State
  • No. 8 Washington
  • No. 20 Stanford
  • No. 32 Arizona
  • No. 40 Oregon
  • No. 49 Utah

A new individual champion will be crowned this season, with six Golfstat Top 50 nationally ranked players among the frontrunners for medalist honors.

  • RJ Manke, Washington (No. 4, Haskins Award watch list)
  • Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford (No. 20, Haskins Award watch list)
  • Mason Andersen, Arizona State (No. 27)
  • Jose Luis Ballester, Arizona State (No. 28)
  • Cameron Sisk, Arizona State (No. 34, Haskins Award watch list)
  • James Leow, Arizona State (No. 43)

Following the Championships, Pac-12 teams will turn their attention to postseason competition which will begin with NCAA Regional play May 15-18 followed by the NCAA Championships hosted by Arizona State at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz., May 27-June 1. The NCAA Selection Show will air on GOLF Channel on May 4 at 1:00 p.m. PT.

--Mason Andersen is a fifth-year senior from Chandler, AZ.
--Josele Ballester is a freshman from Spain.
--Cameron Sisk earned third-team All-America honors in 2020.
--James Leow won the 2022 Thunderbird Invitational on April 15-016.
--Preston Summerhays is a freshman and competing in his first Pac-12 Championship.
--Ryggs Johnston is a junior from Montana.

ROUND 1: Monday 4/25 for ASU: 7:05 a.m.-8:05 a.m./No. 10 
ROUND 2: Monday 4/25 for ASU: 12:35 p.m.-1:35 p.m./No. 10 
ROUND 3: Tuesday, 4/26 (ASU TBD): 10 a.m./Tees 1 & 10 
ROUND 4: Wednesday 4/27 (ASU TBD): 7:30 a.m./Tees 1 & 10 

COACH THURMOND HAS THREE RINGS: Matt Thurmond's earned three Pac-10 titles in his 14 years at Washington, as the Huskies claimed the team title in 2010, 2009 and 2005. UW had not won the Pac-12 title since 1988 prior to its 2005 championship.

PAC-10/12 SUCCESS AT ASU: Arizona State has won 12 Pac-10 titles in its 42 chances, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other six Pac-10 titles were in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990, 1993 and 2008. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula, and the league decided to go to a playoff format after that season.

MOST PAC-10/12 TEAM TITLES SINCE 1979 (ASU and Arizona joined the Pac-10 in the 1978-79 athletic season)
ARIZONA STATE (12): 2008, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1993, 1990, 1989, 1981, 1979
USC (8): 2018, 2011, 2007, 2002, 2001, 1986, 1984, 1980
STANFORD (6): 2019, 2016, 2015, 2014, 1994, 1992
UCLA (5): 2006, 2003, 1985, 1983, 1982
ARIZONA (4): 2021, 2004, 1991, 1987
WASHINGTON (4): 2010, 2009, 2005, 1988
CALIFORNIA (2): 2013, 2012
OREGON (1): 2017

TERRITORIAL CUP POINT ON THE LINE: A Territorial Cup® Series point is on the line at every men's golf Pac-12 championship, as the Sun Devil have had the upper hand recently in the series. ASU has now finished better than Arizona in 13 of the past 16 Pac-12 men's golf championships, missing Territorial Cup Series points only in 2011, 2012 and 2021.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10/12 MEDALISTS: Jon Rahm won the 2016 title and Paul Casey won three straight Pac-10 titles from 1998-2000, which is a conference record for consecutive Pac-10/12 titles. Other Sun Devils who have won the Pac-10 championship are Scott Johnson (1997), Phil Mickelson (1990), co-medalists Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes (1981), Jim Bertoncino (co-medalist in 1980) and co-medalists Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist (1979).

FEEL GOOD FOR THE FAM: Sun Devil head coach Matt Thurmond can be proud of his former Washington assistants making their marks at programs with noteworthy 2020-21 seasons. Oregon State under John Reehoorn earned a regional bid for just the second time in the past seven chances and its sixth-place Pac-12 2021 finish matched its best in past eight while Garrett Clegg at Utah led his program to a regional for the first time since 1992. Outside the Pac-12 Michael Wilson at Long Beach State won its first conference title since 2004 and made its first regional appearance since 2012 and just its fourth overall. Dan Potter at Boise State is took the Broncos to regionals for the first time since 1994 and just second time overall. Van Williams, a fifth former assistant -- this one from Arizona State -- is also leading the program at Wofford.