Skip to main content

PCCSC Sailor of the Year

Apr 21, 2022

HONOLULU, Hawaii - Michelle Lahrkamp is the latest Stanford sailor to claim the yearly indivual honor after an impressive showing at the PCCSC women's fleet race championships this weekend. She led the Cardinal to a first place finish and an automatic berth at the national championships later this year.

This marked the 17th straight PCCSC women's fleet race victory for the Cardinal, and the 18th overall. Stanford has claimed the top spot in each conference women's fleet race championship since 2005.

Lahrkamp adds the award to an impressive resume, including the Quantum National Women's Sailor of the Year in 2020 where the was first freshman in the award's history to win and the first Stanford student-athlete to win. She was an ICSA All-American skipper in 2020, an ICSA All-America women's skipper in 2021, and an ICSA All-America honorable mention coed skipper in 2021.

Lahrkamp also earned all-conference skipper honors in both the coed and women's divisions. The junior led Stanford to the inaugural win in the PCCSC women's team race championships earlier this spring season. 

Lahrkamp and Stanford's attention now shifts to nationals with the women's team race national championships hosted by Brown University in Rhode Island this weekend.