Skip to main content

Bruins Capture Nine Event Victories at Chris Rinne Twilight

Apr 23, 2022
Lyvante Su'emai (photo by Ryan Andersen)

Riverside, Calif. – UCLA Track & Field stayed local for the Chris Rinne Twilight at UC Riverside Track & Field Stadium, with the squad picking up nine event victories on Friday evening.
Lyvante Su'emai secured three wins of her own in Riverside, taking victories in the shot put, discus, and hammer throw competitions with meet-record marks in each event. She posted her second-best hammer mark of the season with a toss of 59.10m (193-10) and went 53.39m (175-2) in the discus. She capped her day in the shot put, where she took the win with a mark of 15.58m (51-01.50).
Jacob Wilson and Dayne Gordien went 1-2 in the men's shot put, notching marks of 18.48m (60-07.75) and 16.60m (54-05.50), respectively. Aidan Elbettar and Ugonna Ikejiofor similarly went 1-2 in the men's discus with tosses of 58.00m (190-3) and 53.92m (176-11). Wilson's and Elbettar's marks were meet records in their respective events.
The Bruins' sixth victory in the throws was in the women's javelin, where Lauren McFall secured the win by over 18 feet with a mark of 46.57m (152-9). McFall also notched a meet record with her performance.  
Freshmen distance runner Audrey Allen was impressive in the 5000m in the Bruins' final event of the evening, taking the win with a time of 17:32.33. Allen ran on her own at the front of the pack the entire way, defeating her nearest competitor by almost 52 seconds.  
Sophomore Katerina Adamiec took the victory in the women's pole vault with a clearance of 3.75m (12-03.50). Freshman Aaron Kim picked up another win for the Bruins in the field with a clearance of 2.00m (6-06.75) in the high jump.
Freshman Gabriel Martin secured a second-place finish 6.84m (22-05.25) in the men's long jump while Megan Ronan was fifth overall in the women's competition with a clearance of 5.32m (17-05.50).
UCLA Track & Field wraps its regular season with a dual meet against USC on Sunday, May 1. The Trojans will host the meet at Cromwell Field and Loker Track.