Skip to main content

UCLA Seeded Fourth for NCAA Championship

Apr 25, 2022
UCLA is seeded fourth for the 2022 NCAA Championship, the Bruins' 20th NCAA Tournament appearance.

SOCIAL MEDIA: WWP on Twitter | WWP on Facebook | WWP on Instagram

INDIANAPOLIS -- No. 3 UCLA (22-5) will be seeded fourth for the 2022 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship as announced by the NCAA Women's Water Polo Committee on Monday evening.

The nine teams that will be vying for the 2022 National Collegiate Women's Water Polo Championship include seven teams that were placed in the bracket and the remaining two teams will compete for the last berth in the bracket via an opening-round game on May 4.

INTERACTIVE BRACKET: The full schedule for the 2022 tournament

The 2022 championship will be a nine-team, single-elimination tournament (eight games). The opening-round game will be conducted Wednesday, May 4 at Canham Natatorium on the campus of Michigan. The winner will advance to the championship, which will be held May 6-8 also at Canham Natatorium in Ann Arbor, Mich. 

In the opening-round game, Wagner (34-3) will play Salem (18-15) at Michigan on May 4 (time TBD). The winner will advance to the championship bracket to play top-seeded Stanford (22-2) in Game 1 at 12:00 p.m. EDT/9:00 a.m. PDT. Fourth-seeded UCLA (22-5) will take on UC Irvine (22-6) in Game 2 on Friday, May 6 at 2:00 p.m. EDT/11:00 a.m. PDT. Second-seeded USC (18-3) will face Fresno State (19-7) in Game 3 at 4:00 p.m. EDT/1:00 p.m. PDT with third-seeded California (16-5) rounding out the field against the hosts, Michigan (26-8), in Game 4 at 6:00 p.m. EDT/3:00 p.m. PDT.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification included the Big West Conference, Collegiate Water Polo Association, Golden Coast Conference, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Mountain Pacific Sports Federation and the Western Water Polo Association. The remaining three teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

The first round and semifinal games will be streamed on ncaa.com. The national championship will take place at 4:00 p.m. EDT/1:00 p.m. PDT on Sunday, May 8 on ESPNU.

This is UCLA's 20th appearance in the NCAA Championship and 26th overall Championship appearance. The Bruins have won 11 national titles, seven of which are NCAA Championships. UCLA enters the 2022 NCAA Championship with an all-time record of 40-12 (.769) in NCAA Tournament games.