Skip to main content

USC Women's Golf Secures No. 2 Seed At Stanford Regional

Apr 27, 2022

No. 12 USC, a two-time winner this season featuring a balanced lineup led by freshman All-American candidate Amari Avery, continues the postseason with its assignment as a No. 2 seed in the 2022 NCAA Stanford Regional (May 9-11) at the Stanford G.C.

The Trojans, three-time NCAA champions who had a recent streak of 14 straight NCAA top 5 finishes end last season, return to Stanford for the second year in a row with hopes of qualifying for the NCAA Championships final set for the Grayhawk G.C. in Scottsdale, Ariz., hosted by Arizona State, May 20-25

Joining the Trojans at Stanford will be No. 1 Stanford, No. 3 LSU, No. 4 Texas Tech, No. 5 Kentucky, No. 6 Iowa State, No. 7 Northwestern, No. 8 Purdue, No. 9 UNLV, No. 10 Cal Poly, No. 11 Princeton and No. 12 Sacred Heart.

USC played in the 18-team Stanford Regional last year, in the final year of the format, and finished sixth, earning the last spot from the site into the NCAA Championships.

Troy also played in at Stanford in NCAA Regional action in 2016 and 2013, winning both, as well as in 2002, qualifying with an eighth-place finish. The Trojans have advanced to the NCAA Championship final site every year since 1998.

This year, the top 4 teams from the six NCAA Regionals - and top two individuals (not on an advancing teams) - will advance to Grayhawk. This is the first year the NCAA is using six regional sites.

USC is led by Avery, a 2022 All-Pac-12 first teamer, as well as fellow freshman Xin (Cindy) Kou and senior Katherine Muzi, both All-Pac-12 honorable mention pick, while sophomores Brianna Navarrosa and Michaela Morard have both been coming on strong.

USC has won an NCAA-best 13 regionals overall and once had a streak of being an NCAA regional top seed from 2011-16.

There are 72 teams in the six NCAA regionals with 12 schools at each site, set for three rounds of competition, May 9-11. USC is one of nine Pac-12 teams to make the field, which include Stanford, Oregon State, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Arizona, UCLA, Washington.