Skip to main content

Utah Gymnastics Ends Season with Annual Banquet

Apr 27, 2022

SALT LAKE CITY - The 2022 Utah gymnastics team held their annual team banquet following another incredible season, which ended in an unprecedented 46th-straight trip to the national championships and a third-place finish in the nation for the second year in a row. Utah repeated as the Pac-12 Champions and also earned the program's third-straight regular season championship.

At the team banquet, the four 2022 awards were given out and selected by the coaching staff. The four awards given are the Team MVP, the Coaches' Award, Dahl Academic-Athletic Award and Marsden's Leadership Award.

The Team MVP for this season was given to co-winners Maile O'Keefe and Grace McCallum after exceptional performances throughout the year. McCallum became a five-time All-American (three regular season, 2 NCAA) after her first season as a Ute, while she earned first team All-Pac-12 honors on every event and in the all-around as the first Ute to do so since 2018.

McCallum was the Pac-12 Champion on bars and floor this season, posted career highs of 9.95 or better on every event, earned a season-best 39.775 in the all-around, and led the team with 20 wins.

O'Keefe was named the 2022 Pac-12 Specialist of the Year and has now earned consecutive yearly honors after she was the 2021 Pac-12 Gymnast of the Year. O'Keefe is now the all-time leader for 10.0s on beam in a single season at Utah after earning three this year, while she ranks second all-time with four career 10.0s on beam. 

Against Minnesota, she became just the fourth Ute in school history to post two 10.0s in the same meet after she did so on bars and beam and the first since 1999. O'Keefe added two All-America and two All-Pac-12 honors to her resume this season. 

The Coaches' Award was given to Amelie Morgan, who hit every single routine this season as Utah's leadoff on bars and beam. Morgan went 32-32 to lead the Red Rocks on her respective events and scored a 9.875 or better in 23 of the 32 routines, which includes half of her routines at a 9.90 or better.

Morgan posted a career-best 9.95 on beam and 9.925 on bars during the regular season, while she scored a 9.90 in five of eight postseason routines as the leadoff gymnast. She earned honorable mention All-Pac-12 honors on beam this season. 

Jaylene Gilstrap was selected as the Dahl Academic-Athletic award winner after contributing to the floor lineup for the majority of the season and excelling in the classroom as well. Gilstrap is majoring in Communications and holds a 3.965 through the fall of 2020. She was a starter on floor in the final nine meets of the season and earned a career high 9.90 against Minnesota and at the NCAA Regional Final.

The last award of the year went to this year's leadership council as Sydney Soloski, Alexia Burch, Jaylene Gilstrap and Cristal Isa were honored with the Marsden's Leadership Award. All four Red Rocks led the team with different leadership styles and served as a direct line of communication to the team and coaches throughout the entire year.