Skip to main content

Bruins and Trojans Set to Square Off in Annual Dual Meet

Apr 29, 2022
Makenzy Pierre-Webster (photo by Jimmy Su)

LOS ANGELES – UCLA Track & Field is set to wrap its 2022 regular season with a showdown against USC in the annual dual meet between the programs. The Trojans will host this year's competition on Sunday, May 1 at Cromwell Field & Loker Track Stadium.
Almost the entire meet program will take place on Sunday, with various field events opening the action at 11 a.m. PT. The first event on the track will be the women's 3000m steeplechase at 11:15 a.m. PT. The men's 4x400m relay is the final event of the day at 2:40 p.m. PT.
Livestream coverage of Saturday's action will be available here.
South Bay Throws Facility will play host to the women's and men's hammer throw competitions on Saturday, which are slated for 12 p.m. PT and 1 p.m. PT, respectively.
MEET RECAP – Chris Rinne Twilight (April 22)
The Bruins stayed local for the Chris Rinne Twilight in Riverside and dominated the competition with multiple meet records.
Lyvante Su'emai secured three wins of her own in Riverside, taking victories in the shot put, discus, and hammer throw competitions with meet-record marks in each event. Jacob Wilson and Dayne Gordien went 1-2 in the men's shot put, notching marks of 18.48m (60-07.75) and 16.60m (54-05.50), respectively. Aidan Elbettar and Ugonna Ikejiofor similarly went 1-2 in the men's discus with tosses of 58.00m (190-3) and 53.92m (176-11). 
Freshmen distance runner Audrey Allen was impressive in the 5000m in the Bruins' final event of the evening, taking the win with a time of 17:32.33. Allen ran on her own at the front of the pack the entire way, defeating her nearest competitor by almost 52 seconds. Sophomore Katerina Adamiec took the victory in the women's pole vault with a clearance of 3.75m (12-03.50). Freshman Aaron Kim picked up another win for the Bruins in the field with a clearance of 2.00m (6-06.75) in the high jump.
LOOKING BACK – 2021 USC Dual Meet (May 2)
The 2021 dual meet against the Trojans featured a 1-4 sweep for the Bruins in the women's javelin, with Ilaria Casarotto (eventual school record holder) taking the victory with a toss of 49.86m (163-7). Shae Anderson was electric in the women's 400m, clocking a then-lifetime-best time of 51.16 for the second-fastest collegiate performance in the nation at that point in the season. The Bruins also secured victories in the men's and women's pole vault competitions, with Kyle Brown (5.11m, 16-09.25) and Mia Cervantes (4.01m, 13-01.75) picking up wins on the day.
NCAA West Preliminaries – 2022 Performance List
Qualification for the NCAA Outdoor Championships first requires qualification to the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds. The top 48 individuals and the top 24 relays in the West Region will qualify for Prelims. Below is a running list of Bruins who have posted times/marks that would qualify for Prelims, at the present moment:
Women's Qualifiers – 4x100m relay, 4x400m relay, Katerina Adamiec (pole vault), Shae Anderson (200m, 400m), Alyssa Bautista (10,000m), Mia Cervantes ( Gwyn George (1500m), Maddy Doane (400m), Sydney Johnson (heptathlon), Catherine Leger (100m, 200m), Lauren McFall (javelin), Chinyere Okoro (100m), Makenzy Pierre-Webster (200m), Rose Pittman (800m), Jillian Stafford (hammer), Lyvante Su'emai (shot put, discus, hammer), Emma Tavella (3000m steeplechase), Isa Videler (heptathlon)
Men's Qualifiers – 4x400m relay, Tate Curarn (pole vault), Aidan Elbettar (discus), Kris Emig (hammer), Peter Herold (3000m steeplechase), Ugonna Ikejiofor (discus), Munir Kabbara (3000m steeplechase), Anoop Khatra (javelin), Sean Lee (high jump), Myles Misener-Daley (200m), Cameron Reynolds (400m), Ismail Turner (400m), Jacob Wilson (shot put, hammer)
UCLA ALL-TIME TOP-10 LIST – 2022 Season Times/Marks
Below is a running list of Bruins who have achieved all-time program top-10 marks this season:

  • 2. Emma Tavella – Women's 3000m Steeplechase – 10:12.65
  • 5. Kris Emig – Men's Hammer – 65.80m (215-10)
  • 9. Lyvante Su'emai – Women's Hammer – 59.70m (195-10)
  • 10. Jillian Stafford – Women's Hammer – 59.15m (194-0)
  • 10. Munir Kabbara – Men's 3000m Steeplechase – 8:46.67