Skip to main content

Bruins Earn At-Large Berth for NCAA BVB Championship

Apr 30, 2022
The UCLA Bruins have made the NCAA Championship final in each of the last three Tournaments.

SOCIAL MEDIA: BeachVB on Twitter | BeachVB on Facebook | BeachVB on Instagram

INDIANAPOLIS -- No. 3 UCLA (31-7) has earned the three-seed for the 2022 National Collegiate Beach Volleyball Championship as announced by the NCAA Women's Beach Volleyball Committee on Saturday evening.

The Bruins will face 14th-seeded Stetson (23-16) on Wednesday, May 4 at 2:00 p.m. CT/12:00 p.m. PT. This is UCLA's sixth NCAA Championship appearance as the Bruins sport an overall record of 17-7 (.708) in NCAA Tournament play. The Bruins won back-to-back NCAA Championships in 2018 and 2019. UCLA also has one second- one third- and one fifth-place finish in NCAA Tournament history.

The NCAA Women's Beach Volleyball Committee announced tonight the 16-team field for the 2022 NCAA Championship in a selection show streamed on The field was selected from the 86 NCAA institutions sponsoring the sport of beach volleyball.

Eight teams were selected as automatic qualifiers, along with two teams selected from the East Region and two teams from the West Region. The final four teams were selected at-large from the teams across the country. All 16 teams were then seeded.

Conferences receiving automatic qualification included ASUN Conference, Big West Conference, Coastal Collegiate Sports Association, Conference USA, Ohio Valley Conference, Southland Conference, PAC-12 Conference and the West Coast Conference.

Florida Atlantic and TCU were selected for the east region, while Grand Canyon and UCLA were the west region selections. California, Hawaii, LSU, and Stanford were the four teams granted at-large bids to the championship.

The first round of the championship will be held Wednesday, May 4 with all 16 participants facing off in a single elimination bracket. The advancing eight teams will compete Friday through Sunday, May 6-8 in a double elimination format. The championship will take place in Gulf Shores, Ala., hosted by the City of Gulf Shores, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Orange Beach Sports and Events.

The event will be televised live by ESPN networks, with ESPNU providing live coverage on Wednesday, May 4 starting at 10 a.m. and Friday, May 6 at 10 a.m. ET. Live coverage will continue Saturday, May 7 on ESPN2, starting at 2 p.m. ET and Sunday, May 8 at 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2. The championship dual will air on ESPN2 Sunday, May 8, at 4 p.m. ET.

The seeds in order are as follows:
1. USC
2. TCU
4. LMU
5. Florida State
6. LSU
7. Grand Canyon
8. Florida Atlantic
9. Stanford
10. Georgia State
11. California
12. Cal Poly
13. Hawai'i
14. Stetson
15. Texas A&M Corpus Christi
16. UT Martin

Additionally, live streaming coverage of every court throughout the tournament will be available on ESPN3. All championship site match times and more information about the championship can be found by clicking here.