Skip to main content

Cardinal Honored with Conference Awards

May 4, 2022

SAN FRANCISCO - Stanford took home three of the six Pac-12 awards on Wednesday and six players were named to the all-conference teams. Since the inception of Pac-12 lacrosse prior to the 2018 season, the Cardinal have won a total of three conference awards until this year.

Ali Baiocco was named Pac-12 Attacker of the Year for the third time, also earning the honor in 2021 and 2018. Despite missing the first three games of the season, Baiocco has flown up the scoring charts to take the lead in goals with 53, eight more than the next player. Her goal total this season is the highest mark in her career and she now owns the Stanford career record for goals and shots.

Kara Rahaim earned the first Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year award for Stanford. Her 152 saves and 46.1 save percentage to the conference and helped Stanford to two big wins over USC and ultimately the regular season title. Rahaim is just the second Stanford goalkeeper to ever claim a conference goalkeeper of the year award, joining Laura Shane who earned the MPSF honor in 2005.

Ashley Humphrey took home Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, the second Cardinal lacrosse player to earn the honor, joining Ali Baiocco (2018). Humphrey's elite offensive play has her at the top of the Stanford and Pac-12 record books in assists in a season and points in a season. She has 36 more assists than the next most in the Pac-12 as she leads the nation in both assists and assists per game. 

Baiocco, Rahaim, and Humphrey each earned a spot on the All-Pac-12 first team as well. Ailish Kelly was also named to the conference first team, making it four Stanford lacrosse players on the first team, more than any other Pac-12 school.

Annabel Frist and Galen Lew were both named to the All-Pac-12 second team, bringing the total to 6 Cardinal all-conference selections. This marks Lew's second all-conference selection after earning second team honors in 2021 as well.

Kelly, Frist, and Lew have been powerful offensive contributors for the Cardinal all season. Frist is second to Baiocco in goals this season for Stanford (42) and Kelly is in fourth on the team chart (32).

Lew is fifth in goals (20) and assists (12), but her biggest contribution this season has come on the draw control. Despite having only one career draw control prior to this year, Lew leads the team in total draw controls with 56, eighth all-time in Stanford history for draw controls in a season.

Pac-12 Attacker of the Year
Ali Baiocco

Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year
Kara Rahaim

Pac-12 Freshman of the Year
Ashley Humphrey

All-Pac-12 First Team
Ali Baiocco
Kara Rahaim
Ashley Humphrey
Ailish Kelly

All-Pac-12 Second Team
Annabel Frist
Galen Lew