Skip to main content

Ducks Headed to 14th Straight NCAA Regional

May 4, 2022

EUGENE, Ore. – The Oregon men's golf program is going to the postseason for the 14th consecutive year.
The Ducks are headed to The Reserve at Spanos Park as the No. 5 seed at the Stockton NCAA Regional, which will be played May 16-18.
The top five teams from the Stockton Regional will advance to the NCAA Championships May 27-June 1 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.
"We are ecstatic and can't wait to go compete and try to advance," said head coach Casey Martin. "This is what we work for."
Oregon is coming of a fourth-place finish at last week's Pac-12 Championships. It was the Ducks' fifth top-five finish in seven spring tournaments. Oregon has won twice this season – at the Saint' Mary's Invitational in the fall and at the Bandon Dunes Championship in March – and was the runner-up at the 24-team Prestige in February.
Joining Oregon in Stockton will be three other Pac-12 teams – No. 4 Arizona State, No. 9 Washington and No. 16 Stanford – as well as No. 21 LSU, Nevada, Liberty, BYU, UAB, Houston, UC Davis, Denver, Abilene Christian and Weber State.
Owen Avrit, who was named to the all-Pac-12 second team on Wednesday, leads the Ducks with a 71.50 scoring average. He was one of three Oregon golfers to finish in the top 10 at the Pac-12 Championships. Yuki Moriyama was third for the season straight year, while Nate Stember tied Avrit for 10th.
Oregon's last appearance at The Reserve in 2018 was also the last time the Ducks advanced to the NCAA Championships. Norman Xiong won medalist honors at 12-under to lead the Ducks into the top five.
Oregon's current string of regional appearances is the longest in program history. The Ducks last missed out on the NCAA postseason in 2007 (there was no NCAA Tournament contested in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic).
NCAA Stockton Regional Field
1. Arizona State
2. Washington
3. Stanford
4. LSU
5. Oregon
6. Nevada
7. Liberty
8. BYU
9. UAB
10. Houston
11. UC Davis
12. Denver
13. Abilene Christian
14. Weber State
- -