Skip to main content

Wong, Fortin, Zupancic Earn All-Pac-12 Honors

May 4, 2022

SEATTLE – Washington's top three singles players for the majority of the season were all named on the All-Pac-12 Women's Tennis Team today. Senior Vanessa Wong garnered Second Team honors, while Sarah-Maude Fortin and Nika Zupancic were named honorable mention.
Washington is two days out from opening up in the NCAA Championships against Baylor, in a match hosted by Texas A&M in College Station, Texas. The Huskies and Baylor will play at 8 a.m. Pacific time.
Wong, the winningest Husky ever, tied for the most singles wins with 111 and alone in first with 192 combined singles and doubles wins, is now a four-time All-Pac-12 Team selection, three Second Teams and one First Team honor. She joins Venise Chan and Kristina Kraszewski as the only Huskies to make the First or Second Teams four times. Wong is currently ranked 109th in singles.
Fortin earned honorable mention for the second year in a row, even in spite of missing the team's past five matches due to a foot issue. Fortin had a 14-3 dual match record at No. 2 singles prior to the injury, and a 22-7 mark on the year. She has been ranked as high as No. 88 nationally this season and is currently No. 98.
Zupancic has posted a 18-8 singles mark this year and a 12-6 dual record and earned her first singles ranking back in February, getting ranked at No. 98. This is the first All-Pac-12 mention of her stellar UW career. The senior has won 58 singles matches and 51 doubles matches and is set to help the Huskies in the NCAA tournament for a second time, after 2019's round of 16 run.



Name School Year Hometown
Michaela Bayerlova Washington State 5th Krumbach, Germany
Eryn Cayetano USC Jr. Long Beach, Calif.
Salma Ewing USC Sr. Lakewood, Calif.
Abbey Forbes UCLA Jr.  Raleigh, N.C.
Connie Ma Stanford Fr. Dublin, Calif.
Giulia Morlet Arizona State So. Paris, France


Name School Year Hometown
Jessica Alsola California Fr. Fresno, Calif.
Elysia Bolton UCLA Sr. Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.
Haley Giavara California Jr. San Diego, Calif.
Sophie Luescher Oregon Fr. Seengen, Switzerland
Vanessa Wong Washington Sr. Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Alexandra Yepifanova Stanford Fr. Hollywood, Fla.

HONORABLE MENTION: Antonia Balzert, COLO; Angelica Blake, STAN; Naomi Cheong, USC; Megan Forster, COLO; Sarah-Maude Fortin, WASH; Sedona Gallagher, ASU; Anastasia Goncharova, UTAH; Snow Han, USC; Kimmi Hance, UCLA; Linda Huang, UTAH; Cali Jankowski, ASU; Savanna Ly-Nguyen, WSU;  Myah Petchey, ORE; Caroline Pozo, COLO; Erin Richardson, CAL; Julia Rosenqvist, CAL; Patricija Spaka, ASU; Domenika Turkovic, ASU;  Hannah Viller Moeller, CAL; Katja Wiersholm, CAL; Kayla Wilkins, ARIZ; Karin Young, ORE; Salma Ziouti, ARIZ; Nika Zupancic, WASH.

PAC-12 SINGLES PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Michaela Bayerlova, Washington State
PAC-12 DOUBLES TEAM OF THE YEAR: Angelica Blake/Connie Ma, Stanford
PAC-12 COACH OF THE YEAR: Sheila McInerney, Arizona State