Skip to main content

Netherlands Edges Out UW Men At Windermere Cup

May 7, 2022

SEATTLE – The Washington men led much of the way in the Windermere Cup, but the crew from the Netherlands caught them in the final 500 meters to win the featured men's race at the annual Opening Day/Windermere Cup Regatta Saturday on Montlake Cut.
Washington's men won the other three men's collegiate races, including the Erickson Cascade Cup, in the first full-scale Opening Day regatta since 2019. The women had similar results, falling to Great Britain by a half-length in the Windermere Cup while winning all other events.
In the Windermere Cup, with both the UW first and second varsity eights competing vs. a Dutch crew comprised of oarsmen with significant international experience, the Husky varsity eight trailed at 500 meters, but passed the 1,000-meter buoy just ahead of the visitors. At 1,500 meters, the Husky advantage was 1.6 seconds, but the Dutch, long known for strong finishing sprints, managed to take back the lead in the homestretch, winning by about four seats with a time of 5:37.208. 
The UW varsity crew, which included Dutch internationals Simon van Dorp (a 2020 Olympian) and Gert-Jan van Doorn, finished in 5:39.290 and the second varsity eight crossed the line in 5:48.116.
"Obviously, you want to win every race, but this was a little more personal," said van Doorn, who said he's rowed with three or four of the Dutch oarsmen in the past. "You look over, and even though you're on the other side of the world, you're racing your friends."
"I thought it was a really hard-fought race from start to finish," said UW head coach Michael Callahan. "Windermere wanted strong competition and we certainly got it today, and I think it actually helped our team going into Pac-12s next week. We needed to make an improvement from our Cal Dual, and I think we saw that in the boat speed from the varsity, for sure. The 2V also did a good job in that race."
Washington's third varsity eight won the Erickson Cascade Cup, beating varsity eights from Washington State and Western Washington. The Husky 3V8+ finished with a time of 5:52.926, 30 seconds ahead of second-place WSU.
The Huskies also won the 3V8+/F8+ race with its fourth varsity crew, beating Seattle University and Western Washington. The Washington varsity four won its race over Pac-12 rival Oregon State, as well as Western Washington.
Next up for the Huskies is the 2022 Pac-12 Championships, as the UW men and women will both defend their conference crowns next Sunday at Dexter Lake in Lowell, Ore. Three weeks later, the Huskies will defend their 2021 IRA National Championship at Mercer Lake in New Jersey. 
Washington Men's Lineups
Varsity Eight
Shell: Brett "Big Red" Reisinger
Cox: Max Schwartzkopff (Frankfurt am Main, Germany)
Stroke: Steve Rosts (Jordon, Ont., Canada)
7: Simon van Dorp  (Amsterdam, Netherlands)
6: Blake Bradshaw (Auckland, New Zealand)
5: Darcy McCluskey (Brisbane, Australia)
4: Jack Walkey (Victoria, B.C., Canada)
3: Mattijs Holler (Vienna, Austria)
2: Gert-Jan van Doorn (Leiden, The Netherlands)
Bow: Pablo Matan (San Jose, Calif./Bellarmine Prep)
Second Varsity Eight
Shell: Chuck Holtz III
Cox: Adam Gold (Seattle, Wash./Seattle Academy)
Stroke: Max Heid (Seattle, Wash./Seattle Prep)
7: Sebastian Ritter (Regensburg, Germany)
6: Robert Pluijmert (Dieren, The Netherlands)
5: Logan Ullrich (Auckland, New Zealand)
4: Adam Krol (Toronto, Ont., Canada)
3: Harry Fitzpatrick (Auckland, New Zealand)
2: Quinn Hall (Chester Springs, Pa./Malvern Prep)
Bow: Giulio Acernese (Rome, Italy)
Third Varsity Eight
Shell: Carl Lovsted
Cox: Zach Casler (Newport Beach, Calif./Newport Harbor)
Stroke: Quinn Cooney (Kirkland, Wash./Tesla STEM)
7: Blake Vogel (Pittsburgh, Pa./Central Catholic)
6: Chase Barrows (Snohomish, Wash./Archbishop Murphy)
5: Colin Kwiecinski (Cincinnati, Ohio/St. Xavier)
4: Nils Vorberg (Hamburg, Germany)
3: Archie Drummond (Twickenham, London, U.K.)
2: Marius Ahlsand (Oslo, Norway)
Bow: Jack Premzic (Davis, Calif./Davis Senior)
Fourth Varsity Eight
Shell: John Jacobi
Cox: Thomas Wenk (Cincinnati, Ohio/St. Xavier)
Stroke: Gus Altucher (Portland, Ore./Cleveland)
7: Ethan Blight (Auckland, New Zealand)
6: Michael Thiers (Seattle, Wash./Roosevelt)
5: Abe Eligator (Larchmont, N.Y./Mamaroneck)
4: Parker Raines (Sammamish, Wash./Skyline)
3: Marlon Bayer (Sarasota, Fla./Cardinal Mooney)
2: Max Mason (Redmond, Wash./Redmond)
Bow: Luke Henry (Bellevue, Wash./Singapore American) 
Varsity Four
Shell: Lou Gellermann
Stroke: Matt Peters (Reading, England, U.K.)
3: Jack Patzer (Menlo Park, Calif./Menlo-Atherton)
2: Chandler Kovacevich (Snohomish, Wash./Monroe)
Bow: Louis Gallia IV (Sacramento, Calif./Jesuit)
Cox: Nick Dunlop (Sydney, Australia)