Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

Stanford, USC selected to 2022 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship

May 8, 2022

2022 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - STANFORD and USC were among the 29 teams selected to compete in the 2022 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship it as announced on Sunday evening.

STANFORD (12-6), which captured its second consecutive Pac-12 Tournament crown on Saturday after earning a share of the league's regular-season title, will head to Gainesville, Fla., where it will face Jacksonville (13-4) in No. 7 seed Florida’s pod on May 13 at 4:30 p.m. PT. The Cardinal have now received a bid to the NCAA postseason 11 times, including all four times since the Pac-12 began sponsoring women's lacrosse in 2018. 

USC (13-4), which split the Pac-12 regular-season crown with the Cardinal, was among 14 at-large selections into the field. The Trojans will visit Chapel Hill, N.C., where they will open against Virginia (9-9) in No. 1 seed North Carolina’s pod on May 13 at 11 a.m. PT. It marks USC's fourth NCAA Tournament berth, second in the Pac-12 era (2019, 2022).

ARIZONA STATE (11-8) was among the First Four Out of the field despite registering its best season in program history - recording its most Conference victories (7-3) and four top-25 upsets, and advancing to its first-ever Pac-12 Tournament title game.

The tournament begins with first-round games May 13. Eight sites will host first- and second-round competition Friday, May 13 and Sunday, May 15, and four quarterfinal games will be played Thursday, May 19. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions and will be shown live on ESPN+.

The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the national semifinals hosted by Johns Hopkins University at Homewood Field in Baltimore, Maryland. The semifinal games will be shown live on ESPNU at 12 and 2 p.m. PT, Friday, May 27, while the championship game will air live on ESPN Sunday, May 29 at 9 a.m. PT.