Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference
of Champions

Five Pac-12 Women's Golf teams advance to 2022 NCAA Championships

May 11, 2022 Regionals coverage | Pac-12 Women's Golf Record Book

SAN FRANCISCO - Five Pac-12 Women's Golf teams advanced through six regional competitions and onto the 2022 NCAA Championships hosted by ARIZONA STATE, highlighted by team and individual victories for the OREGON and USC programs.

The Pac-12 has now sent at least five teams to the NCAA Women's Golf Championships every year since 2010, and in 28 of the event's 39 stagings. The Conference's five 2022 qualifiers trail only the SEC's nine.

The top four teams from each of the six regional sites advanced to the 2022 NCAA Women's Golf Championships hosted by Arizona State at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz., from May 20-25.

2022 NCAA Women's Golf Championships - Pac-12 Qualifiers
OREGON - 1st at Albuquerque Regional
USC - 1st at Stanford Regional
ARIZONA STATE - 2nd at Stillwater Regional
STANFORD - T2nd at Stanford Regional
UCLA - T2nd at Tallahassee Regional

Paced by junior Briana Chacon's (9-under-par 207) four-shot individual victory, No. 2 nationally ranked Oregon led wire-to-wire to capture the Albuquerque Regional - the program's first-ever NCAA Regional title to add to its first Pac-12 Championship crown. It marked the program-record setting fifth tournament win of the season for the Ducks.

After winning the Pac-12 title there last spring, No. 12 USC added an NCAA regional victory at Stanford Golf Course as the Trojans posted an eight-shot win over LSU and the host and top-ranked Cardinal. USC freshman sensation Amari Avery (9-under 204) won her third tournament in eight spring starts, edging fellow Stanford rookie phenom Rose Zhang (8-under 205) by one stroke.

No. 7 Arizona State and No. 10 UCLA were in the top-4 throughout their respective Stillwater and Tallahassee regionals to easily advance to Grayhawk.

The 24 NCAA Championships qualifying teams will compete in 72 holes of stroke play, with the top eight teams advancing to a match-play tournament.

In the six stagings since adjusting format in 2015, the Pac-12 has had 22 team match-play participants - nearly triple the next closest league (ACC 8) - and four different NCAA team national champions (Stanford 2015, Washington 2016, Arizona State 2017, Arizona 2018). In total, Pac-12 programs have combined to win half (19) of the 38 NCAA national championships since competition began in 1982.