Skip to main content

National-best five Pac-12 teams selected for 2022 NCAA Women’s Rowing Championships

May 17, 2022

2022 NCAA Women’s Rowing Selections

SAN FRANCISCO - Led by Pac-12 champion and automatic qualifier STANFORD, five Pac-12 Women’s Rowing programs were part of the 22-team field announced for the 2022 NCAA Championships on Tuesday.

Joining the Cardinal in the event will be CALIFORNIA, OREGON STATE, USC and WASHINGTON. The five Pac-12 teams are the most in the field, ahead of the Ivy League’s four and three apiece from the ACC and Big Ten.

Stanford captured its second Pac-12 Championship on Sunday, May 15, unseating two-time defending champion and runner-up Washington. California placed third, while Oregon State finished fourth and USC fifth. All five teams are in the top 15 of the latest Pocock CRCA national rankings - No. 2 Stanford, No. 7 Washington, No. 10 California, No. 13 Oregon State, No. 15 USC.

Teams qualifying for the championship are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. For the I Eights, II Eights and Fours, all 22 boats will be seeded into four heats.

The championships will be held May 27-29 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla. with University of Central Florida and Suncoast Aquatic Nature Center Associates, serving as hosts.Three Pac-12 programs - Washington (five), California (four) and Stanford (one) - have combined to claim a national-best 10 NCAA titles, including a stretch of four straight from 2016-19.