Skip to main content

Beavers off to Arkansas for NCAA West Preliminary Meet

May 23, 2022

Corvallis, Ore. – Seven Oregon State athletes will compete at the NCAA West Preliminary Meet at the University of Arkansas this Thursday through Saturday, hoping to advance to next month's NCAA Championships.

Seniors Kaylee Mitchell, Emma Nelson and Mari Friedman, redshirt junior Grace Fetherstonhaugh, junior Anneke Moersdorf, sophomore Ella Knott and freshman Isabelle Esler are aiming for a top-12 finish to secure a berth at the NCAA finals,  scheduled for June 10-12 at Hayward Field in Eugene.

Esler and Knott will compete in the javelin at noon on Thursday; Knott (151-11) is in the first flight, Esler (165-11) in the third and final flight. Esler placed sixth, Knott eighth at the recent Pac-12 meet. Each women gets three attempts and the top 12 finishers advance to Eugene.

Moersdorf is in the first of four heats in the long jump, set for 4 p.m. Thursday. She tied the school record (20-1) and placed fourth at the Pac-12 meet in her most recent competition.
There is only one round in each flight. The top 12 finishers advance to Eugene.

Friedman will compete in the second of four 1500 first-round heats, at 4:30 p.m. Thursday. She has a 4:18.21qualifying time; she most recently placed 10th at the Pac-12 championships in 4:21.92.

The top five finishers in each heat, and the next four fastest times, advance to Saturday's 3:15 p.m. two-heat quarterfinals. The top five in each quarterfinal heat, and the next two fastest times,  advance to the NCAA championships.

Nelson competes in the high jump at 12:30 p.m. Saturday. Her qualifying mark is 5-8.75; she was seventh at Pac-12s at 5-7.25. 

There are two 24-women flights. The top 12 finishers advance to Eugene; if necessary, there will be a jump-off for the final qualifying spots.

Fetherstonhaugh (9:44.76) and Mitchell (9:48.79) will run in the 3000 steeplechase at 3:40 p.m. Saturday. Fetherstonhaugh placed seventh, Mitchell 35th at the 2021 preliminary meet; Fetherstonhaugh then withdrew from the NCAA finals because of illness.

There is one round, with three heats. The top three finishers from each heat, and the next three fastest times, qualify for the finals in Eugene. Fetherstonhaugh has the fifth-fastest qualifying time, Mitchell the seventh-fastest.

Up next

The NCAA Championships are set for June 10-12 at Hayward Field at the University of Oregon in Eugene.

NCAA West Preliminary
Fayetteville, Ark. | University of Arkansas

Thursday's OSU entrants

Field events
Javelin finals (noon): Isabelle Esler, Ella Knott.
Long jump finals (4 p.m.): Anneke Moersdorf.
Track Events
1500 prelims (4:30 p.m.): Mari Friedman.
Saturday's OSU entrants

Field events
High jump finals: Emma Nelson.
Track Events
1500 finals (3:15 p.m.) TBA.
3000 steeplechase finals: Grace Fetherstonhaugh, Kaylee Mitchell.