Skip to main content

2022 Pac-12 Baseball Tournament

May 25-29 | Scottsdale Stadium

Stanford's Alex Williams named Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

May 25, 2022
John Lozano/

Past Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. - STANFORD's Alex Williams was named the 2022 Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced Wednesday - the opening day of the inaugural Pac-12 Baseball Tournament. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The senior from Castro Valley, Calif., carries a 3.42 grade-point average in management science and engineering on The Farm and has twice been named to the Pac-12 Spring Academic Honor Roll (2020, 2021).

He is currently among 10 finalists, including four from the Pac-12, for the Senior CLASS Award for baseball which recognizes senior student-athletes with notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

The 2022 Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year, Williams enters the Pac-12 Tournament atop the Conference with a 1.67 ERA, allowing just 16 runs across a league-leading 86.1 innings pitched. He also ranks second in the Pac-12 in wins (8) and opposing batting average (.192).

For his career, Williams owns a 23-5 record with a 2.26 ERA in 38 starts in 43 appearances, helping the Cardinal to the 2022 Pac-12 regular-season championship, the 2021 College World Series, and 2019 NCAA Super Regionals.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Quinn Flanagan, Arizona; Boyd Vander Kooi, Arizona State; Nick Proctor, California; Kolby Somers, Oregon; Mitchell Verburg, Oregon State; Daniel Colwell, UCLA; Dusty Schramm, Utah; Jack Smith, Washington State.

Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athletes of the Year
2022 - Alex Williams, Stanford
2021 - Zach Grech, Stanford
2020 - No award
2019 - Mason Cerillo, Washington
2018 - Jack Anderson, Oregon State
2017 - Max Engelbrekt, Oregon State
2016 - Nick Halamandaris, California
2015 - Tyler Davis, Washington
2014 - Collin Slaybaugh, Washington State
2013 - Mark Appel, Stanford
2012 - Andrew Triggs, Stanford
2011 - Chris Metzger, USC
2010 - Matt Fanelli, Washington State
2009 - Greg Lagreid, Washington State
2008 - Jasyon Miller, Washington State