Skip to main content

Beavers head to 2022 NCAA Championships in Florida

May 26, 2022

CORVALLIS, Ore. – No. 15 Oregon State women's rowing is set to compete at the 2022 NCAA Championships this Friday through Sunday, May 27-29. The regatta will be held at the Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Fla.

The NCAA announced the 22-team field for the regatta last Tuesday, May 17. The NCAA postseason appearance is the first time for the Orange & Black since the 2009 campaign and the 3rd in program history.

The Beavers were one of 11 teams that received an at-large selection to complete the championship field. Teams qualifying for the championships are required to field two varsity eight boats and one varsity four.  

Oregon State goes into the NCAA competition each boat seeded based on results from the spring season. The Beavers Varsity Eight is seeded 11th, the Second Varsity Eight is seeded 16th and the Varsity Four is seeded 14th. The seeding determines which heat each boat is in for their first race of the competition. 

With an incredible fourth place finish at the Pac-12 Championship, the Beavers are excited to continue their historic season with the toughest series of races on the horizon in Florida.

Watch Live:
Live Results:
Event Tickets:

Friday, May 27, Heats
6:24 a.m. PT – First Eights, heat three
Boston U, Oregon State, Stanford, Ohio State, Syracuse, Jacksonville
6:48 a.m. PT – Second Eights, heat one
USC, SMU, Texas, Michigan, Oregon State
8:00 a.m. PT – Fours, heat three
Boston U, California, Princeton, Brown, Oregon State, Jacksonville

Top two finishers from the heats will automatically advance to Saturday's A/B Semifinals. Heat finishers that place in 3rd – 6th will race in the Repechage on Friday afternoon between 1:12 p.m. PT and 2:12 p.m. PT. Results across the Heats and Repechage races on Friday determine which semifinal (A/B or C/D) each boat will compete in. Every boat class qualifies and advances in its own category.

Saturday May 28th will host the semifinals with the following schedule:
Varsity Eight Semifinals: 5:12, 5:24, 5:36, 5:48 a.m. PT
Second Varsity Eight Semifinals: 6:00, 6:12, 6:24, 6:36 a.m. PT
Varsity Four Semifinals: 6:48, 7:00, 7:12, 7:24 a.m. PT
Sunday May 29th every boat and every team will compete in a final. Which final is determined by the series of races leading up to Sunday. The Sunday schedule is as follows and are all in Pacific Time:
5:12 a.m.- Varsity Four D Final (Places 19-22)
5:24 a.m.- Varsity Four C Final (Places 13-18)
5:36 a.m.- Second Varsity Eight D Final (Places 19-22)
5:48 a.m.- Second Varsity Eight C Final (Places 13-18)
6:00 a.m.- Varsity Eight D Final (Places 19-22)
6:12 a.m.- Varsity Eight C Final (Places 13-18)
6:24 a.m.- Varsity Four Petite Final (Places 7-12)
6:36 a.m.- Varsity Four Grand Final (Places 1-6)
6:48 a.m.- Second Varsity Eight Petite Final (Places 7-12)
7:00 a.m.- Second Varsity Eight Grand Final (Places 1-6)
7:12 a.m.- Varsity Eight Petite Final (Places 7-12)
7:24 a.m.- Varsity Eight Grand Final (Places 1-6)
Schedules are subject to change, and frequently do. See the link for the full schedule of racing at the top-right of this page.

Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).