Skip to main content

ASU’s Darryl Rogers, Luis Zendejas on 2023 College Football HOF Ballot

Jun 6, 2022

IRVING, Texas – Former Arizona State football player Luis Zendejas and former head coach Darryl Rogers are among those on the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) portion of the 2023 College Football Hall of Fame induction ballot, as announced today by the Hall and The National Football Foundation (NFF). The 2023 ballot includes 80 players and nine coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 96 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks. Zendejas is on the ballot for the third consecutive year, while Rogers' name appears for the fourth time.
The announcement of the 2023 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be made in early 2023, with specific details to be announced in the future. The 2023 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted during the 65th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5, 2023, and permanently immortalized at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. They will also be honored at their respective schools with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, during the 2023 season.
Sun Devil kicker Luis Zendejas boasts a resume that warrants his name being in the discussion of one of the greatest placekickers in college football history. He left Arizona State as the NCAA's all-time leading scorer, finishing with 380 points. Zendejas was named a Consensus First Team All-American after a historic 1983 campaign. He remains Arizona State's all-time leader in single-season field goals made, putting 28 through the uprights in 1983. Zendejas completed his career with 81 made field goals, the second-highest mark by a Sun Devil. By the time his career in Tempe came to an end, Zendejas had claimed several NCAA records that have since been surpassed. However, he still holds the NCAA record for most times making three or more field goals in a game during a season, accomplishing the feat six times in 1983. The four-time Pac-10 All-Conference selection was inducted into the Sun Devil Athletics Hall of Fame in 1995.
Darryl Rogers went 37-18-1 with ASU from 1980 through 1984 and defeated Oklahoma, 32-21, in the 1982 Fiesta Bowl. He also coached at Cal State East Bay (formerly Cal State Hayward) (1965), Fresno State (1966-72), San Jose State (1973-75), and Michigan State (1976-79). He took Fresno State to two bowl games while achieving an unprecedented national ranking at San Jose State. He was named Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1977 and National Coach of the Year by Sporting News in 1978. He won the Big Ten title in 1978.
Selection process
The ballot was emailed today to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Court, which will deliberate and select the class. The Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.
The criteria for Hall of Fame consideration include:
•           First and foremost, a player must have received First-Team All-America recognition by a selector that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise its consensus All-America teams.
•           A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation's Honors Courts 10 full seasons after his final year of intercollegiate football played.
•           While each nominee's football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether the candidate earned a college degree.
•           Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years.* For example, to be eligible for the 2023 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1973 or thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.
•           A coach becomes eligible three full seasons after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age. He must have been a head football coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.
•           Nominations may only be submitted by the current athletics director, head coach or sports information director (SID) of a potential candidate's collegiate institution. Nominations may also be submitted by the president/executive director of a dues-paying chapter of the National Football Foundation.
*Players who do not comply with the 50-year rule may still be eligible for consideration by the Football Bowl Subdivision and Divisional Veterans Committees. Veterans Committee candidates must still meet First Team All-America requirement.