Skip to main content

Davis, Coach Anger Win ITA Region Awards

Jun 6, 2022

SEATTLE – Matt Anger added one more award to his lengthy list today as the departing Husky Head Coach was named the ITA Northwest Region Coach of the Year. Also receiving recognition today was senior Jack Davis, who was named the ITA Most Improved Senior.
Davis, the Vancouver, B.C. standout who played primarily No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles for the Huskies this year, had a career-high 16 dual singles wins and a career-high 15 dual doubles wins. He was ranked once in April in singles, at No. 124, and was ranked in doubles with two partners, once with Brandon Wong, and he ended the season ranked 26th nationally in doubles with Ewen Lumsden.
Davis is the fifth Husky to win the ITA Most Improved Senior award in the past eight installments, highlighting the continued development of Coach Anger's athletes up until graduation day. Previous winners have included Max Manthou, Jeff Hawke, Jake Douglas, and Piers Foley, with Foley the most recent winner in 2019. Davis concluded his Husky career with 75 singles wins and 72 doubles wins for 147 combined victories. The 72 doubles wins ties him for seventh in UW history, and the combined victories are 10th all-time.
Anger, who announced his retirement last month, led the Huskies back to the NCAA Championships this season for the first time since 2017. The Huskies had an 18-12 record for their most wins since 2013. Washington earned its first trip to the finals of the Pac-12 Championships this season, upsetting No. 1-seed Arizona to become the first No. 8 seed to reach the semis, let alone the final. The Huskies ended the season ranked 39th, the 19th time under Anger that UW was ranked in the top-40 at year's end.
Clement Chidekh earned the first No. 1 singles ranking in school history during the year, while Davis and Ewen Lumsden both earned singles rankings as well. In doubles, Davis and Lumsden, Chidekh and Nedim Suko, and Davis and Wong were all ranked during the season.
Coach Anger previously won the ITA Northwest Region Coach of the Year honor in 2005.