Skip to main content

Oregon State Staff Named Regional Staff of the Year

Jun 9, 2022

CORVALLIS – The Oregon State softball coaching staff was selected as the NFCA Division I Regional Coaching Staff of the Year, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association announced Thursday.
The Beavers' staff of Laura Berg, Marcie Green, Eric Leyba and Shelly Prochaska led the Beavers to the Women's College World Series for the first time since 2006. Oregon State's run to Oklahoma City featured stops in enemy territory, as the Beavers won their Super Regional at Stanford and advanced through the Knoxville Regional, hosted by Tennessee.
As a team, OSU finished the 2022 campaign with a record of 39-22, in a season that included a 17-game winning streak. The Beavers won seven games vs. ranked opponents.
The Oregon State staff coached Mariah Mazon and Frankie Hammoude to All-America honors for their performance on the season, and led the Pacific Region with four All-Region selection as Mazon and Hammoude were joined by Sarah Haendiges and Kiki Escobar. Five Beavers earned All-Pac-12 honors.
The Beavers graduate just one player from their 2022 squad – standout Mariah Mazon. Oregon State featured one of the youngest rosters in the country this season, with 14 freshmen and six sophomores.
Ten Regional coaches were honored by the NFCA on Thursday, as voted on by the organizations active head coaches. The NFCA Division I National Coaching Staff of the Year will be announced on June 23.
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).