Skip to main content

Pac-12 Conference

The Conference of Champions
553 NCAA Titles & Counting


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to scheduled technical maintenance.

Stanford's Brock Jones, Utah's Alex Baeza win ABCA/Rawlings Gold Gloves

Jun 22, 2022

A pair of Pac-12 baseball student-athletes were honored for their dazzling defense on Wednesday as Stanford center fielder Brock Jones and Utah first baseman Alex Baeza were among the nine Division I players to win a ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove.

The award is given to the best defensive player at each position.

Jones posted a .990 fielding percentage with three outfield assists in 2022, helping lead Stanford to a second consecutive College World Series berth.

Jones also hit .324 with 13 doubles, five triples, 21 homers and 57 RBIs, earning All-American honors from every major outlet that's been announced so far.

Baeza, the first Ute to ever win a Gold Glove, committed just one error in 505 chances for a .998 fielding percentage and helped Utah record 14 pickoffs.

Baeza did not commit a single error in Pac-12 play despite having 271 chances, the fourth-most of any player in the conference.

Baeza and Jones both made the 2022 Pac-12 All-Defensive Team.