Skip to main content

UCLA Rowing Lands 17 CRCA Scholar-Athlete Selections

Jun 24, 2022
UCLA women's rowing (photo by Jesus Ramirez)

The UCLA women's rowing program had 17 student-athletes named as CRCA Scholar-Athletes, as announced Friday by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.
Seniors Sarah Coufal and Lucy Holgate have been named as CRCA Scholar-Athlete selections for the third consecutive year. Juniors Jessie Goodall, Sydney Page, Lucy Pullinger, Ellen Ulitsky and Irene Ulitsky have earned the scholar-athlete honor for the second straight year. Juniors Clara Kennedy and Audrey Petersen and eight sophomores – Amelia Cataldi, Elsa Couvillon, Mia Glinn, Grace Hinckley, Siobhan Lewis, Katerina Rally, Ellen Tsai and Jianna Ursitti – have also secured CRCA Scholar-Athlete acclaim.
All rowers who have earned such distinction are, at a minimum, in their second year of eligibility and have compiled at least a 3.50 cumulative GPA (through the fall and winter quarters during the 2021-22 academic year). In addition, student-athletes selected as CRCA Scholar-Athletes must have rowed in their institution's NCAA-eligible boats for a minimum of 75 percent of the spring races (or racing in a regional conference event).
Coufal, a senior from Orinda, Calif., had been recognized at UCLA's student-athlete graduation ceremony as one of the two UCLA Scholar-Athletes of the Year (along with Artin Allahverdian of the men's cross country program).
UCLA's 2021-22 CRCA Scholar-Athlete Selections
Amelia Cataldi (sophomore / political science)
Sarah Coufal (senior / marine biology)
Elsa Couvillon (sophomore / molecular, cell and developmental biology)
Mia Glinn (sophomore / psychobiology)
Jessie Goodall (junior / communications)
Grace Hinckley (sophomore / psychology)
Lucy Holgate (senior / communications)
Clara Kennedy (junior / molecular, cell and developmental biology)
Siobhan Lewis (sophomore / global studies)
Sydney Page (junior / public affairs)
Audrey Petersen (junior / communications)
Lucy Pullinger (junior / communications)
Katerina Rally (sophomore / communications)
Ellen Tsai (sophomore / cognitive science)
Ellen Ulitsky (junior / molecular, cell and developmental biology)
Irene Ulitsky (junior / microbiology, immunology and molecular genetics)
Jianna Ursitti (sophomore / undeclared major)