Skip to main content


Pac-12 Networks programming may be unavailable due to technical maintenance.

Ten Beavers Named CRCA Scholar Athletes

Jun 27, 2022

CORVALLIS – Ten Oregon State rowers earned CRCA Scholar Athlete honors for the 2021-22 season, the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced last week.
Sierra Bishop, Rebecca Camplin, Kathryn Clemens, Maeve Donnelly, Muryn Greene, AnnaRuth Neville, Hannah Robinson, Amelia Sabin, Jane Smeins and Gretchen Thompson all earned the honor.
In order to be named a CRCA Scholar Athlete, student-athletes must achieve the criteria described below:
 - The student-athlete has met all eligibility rules as defined by her institution
 - The student-athlete is in her second, third or fourth year of eligibility
 - The student-athlete rowed in her institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boat(s) for a minimum of 75 percent of the current spring races or racing in a regional conference event.
  - The student-athlete has had a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher for her career (through the fall semester/quarter for the current competition year)
Additionally, Oregon State has announced its team award winners for the season.
Robinson was named the team's Athlete of the Year. She was part of the Beavers' Varsity 8 that finished 14th at nationals, as well as the boat that placed fourth at Pac-12 Championships.
Smeins earned the Suzanne Wilkens Award, which honors the team's Most Inspirational athlete. She joined Robinson in the Varsity 8 for both postseason events.
The Most Improved Experienced award went to Clemens, who was an important piece in Oregon State's Varsity 8 this season after rowing in the 2V8 last year. The Most Improved Novice honor went to Evan Park, who rowed with the 3V8 at Pac-12 Championships.
Oregon State had a historic season in 2021-22, making the NCAA Championships for the first time since 2009 and the third time in program history. The Beavers placed fourteenth in the nation and fourth in the Pac-12.
Oregon State Athletics strives to Build Excellent Authentic Visionary Student-Athletes (Go BEAVS).