Skip to main content

Three Bruins to Compete at Concacaf W Championship

Jul 3, 2022
Ashley Sanchez

Three Bruins will be in action at the 2022 Concacaf W Championship, which takes place in Monterrey, Mexico from July 4-18. UCLA graduate student Maricarmen Reyes will play for Mexico. Alumna Ashley Sanchez (2017-19) will represent the U.S., while her former teammate Jessie Fleming (2016-19) will play for Canada.

In Group A action, the U.S. will play the opening game against Haiti on Monday, July 4 at 4pm, followed by Mexico vs. Jamaica at 7pm. On Tuesday, July 5, Canada takes on Trinidad & Tobago at 7pm in Group B.

At the end of round robin play, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals on July 14 and qualify directly to the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup. The third-place finisher in each group will advance to a 10-team intercontinental playoff tournament to determine the final teams in the expand 32-team field for 2023. 

The winner of the Concacaf W Championship will automatically qualify for both the 2024 Olympics and the inaugural Concacaf W Gold Cup (CWGC), which will also be held in 2024. The second and third place teams will move on to a Concacaf Olympic playoff, which takes place in September of 2023. The winner of that playoff series will also qualify for the 2024 Paris Olympics and the 2024 CWGC.

2022 Concacaf W Championship Schedule
Monday, July 4 
4pm PT - USA vs. Haiti (TV: CBS Sports Network, Paramount+)
7pm PT - Mexico vs. Jamaica (TV: CBS Sports Network, Paramount+)

Tuesday, July 5
4pm PT - Costa Rica vs. Panama (TV: Paramount+)
7pm PT - Canada vs. Trinidad & Tobago (TV: Paramount+)

Thursday, July 7
4pm PT - Jamaica vs. USA (TV: Paramount+)
7pm PT - Haiti vs. Mexico (TV: Paramount+)

Friday, July 8
4pm PT - Trinidad & Tobago vs. Costa Rica (TV: Paramount+)
7pm PT - Panama vs. Canada (TV: Paramount+)

Monday, July 11
4pm PT - Panama vs. Trindad & Tobago (TV: Paramount+)
4pm PT - Canada vs. Costa Rica (TV: Paramount+)
7pm PT - USA vs. Mexico (TV: Paramount+)
7pm PT - Jamaica vs. Haiti (TV: Paramount+)

Thursday, July 14
4pm/7pm PT - Semifinals (TV: CBS Sports Network, Paramount+)

Monday, July 18
4pm PT - Third Place Match  (TV: Paramount+)
7pm PT - Championship (TV: Paramount+)