Skip to main content

10 Wildcats on Preseason East-West Shrine Bowl 1000

Jul 18, 2022
Sophomore defensive lineman Kyon Barrs.

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona Football has 10 players on the preseason East-West Shrine Bowl 1000, one of the premier college football All-Star games in the country.
Kyon Barrs (DL), Jacob Cowing (WR), Josh Donovan (OL), Paiton Fears (OL), Jalen Harris (DL), Jordan Morgan (OL), Kyle Ostendorp (P), Christian Roland-Wallace (CB), Michael Wiley (RB), and Christian Young (S) are among a list of players who are currently all-star game eligible for the 2023 East-West Shrine Bowl and the 2023 NFL Draft class.
Barrs earned 2021 All-Pac-12 Second Team honors after recording 33 tackles including eight tackles for loss and a team-leading five sacks last season. He finished the season tied for eighth in the Pac-12 in sacks. Cowing adds another preseason honor to his list after being named to the Maxwell Award watch list earlier today. He is a standout that will have an immediate impact after leading UTEP in receptions (69), yards (1,354), and touchdowns (7) last season.
Donovan joins the group after playing in eight games a season ago, posting PFF grades of 80+ in pass blocking, including a grade of 88.0 against Utah and 87.7 against Oregon last season. Fears is among the talented offensive lineman with the Wildcats, starting in all 12 games last season. He has appeared in 29 games over three seasons with Arizona.
Harris finished fifth on the team with 47 tackles, marking a career-high, including six tackles for loss and four sacks last season. Morgan started 11 games last season and made 706 offensive snaps with a 96.0 efficiency, including 701 snaps at left tackle.
Ostendorp enters his junior season after earning 2021 All-Pac-12 First Team honors following a record-setting season. He set an Arizona record and led the Pac-12 with 49.2 average yards per punt. Roland-Wallace is among a young core of talented defensive players on the Wildcats. He made a career-high 48 tackles, good for fourth-most on the team last season.
Wiley is a member of a very talented backfield after leading the team in receiving touchdowns and overall touchdowns in 2021. Lastly, Christian Young started all 12 games at the Viper position last season, making a career-high 68 tackles to finish second on the team.
About the East-West Shrine Bowl
The East-West Shrine Bowl is the longest-running college all-star football game in the nation. The East-West Shrine Bowl is an important part of America's football tradition, giving top college players a chance to showcase their talents to NFL scouts and a national television audience.
For more than 90 years, some of football's greatest athletes and coaches have contributed to the tradition of the East-West Shrine Bowl. Players like Gale Sayers, Tom Brady, John Elway, Allan Page, Dick Butkus, Brett Favre, Gino Marchetti and Walter Payton, along with coaches Don Shula, Dick Vermeil, Paul "Bear" Bryant and Jerry Glanville, to name a few, have supported the East-West Shrine Bowl.