Skip to main content

Pac-12 Hoops Central

All things Pac-12
Men's & Women's Basketball

31 former Pac-12 student-athletes participate in 2022 NBA Summer League

Jul 18, 2022

The 2022 NBA2K23 Summer League wrapped up on Sunday, July 17 with the Portland Trail Blazers winning the championship in Las Vegas.

The summer circuit represents a chance for young players to sharpen and showcase their skills before the upcoming season. 31 former Pac-12 standouts were among those who participated.

The champions

Former Pac-12 standouts Jabari Walker (Colorado), Brandon Williams (Arizona) and George King (Colorado) all received championship rings, a Summer League first.

With the 57th pick in June's NBA Draft, the Trail Blazers selected Jabari Walker who quickly became a standout in Las Vegas. 

Portland has signed the former Colorado forward to a standard NBA contract for the 2022-23 NBA season after he put up 12.4 PPG, 9.8 RPG, 1.4 APG, 1.0 BPG, 1.0 SPG, 63 FG%, 43 3P% and 80 FT% in Summer League action.

Top bucket-getters

The top Pac-12 scorers in Vegas were Josh Christopher (19.7 PPG), Bennedict Mathurin (19.3 PPG), Chris Duarte (16.0 PPG) and Ziaire Williams (15 PPG).

Christopher showed off his explosive and relentless skillset in three games for the Houston Rockets as he prepares for his second NBA season. 

In his first taste of NBA action, Mathurin showed why he was worthy of the No. 6 overall pick after averaging 19.3 PPG, 4.0 RPG, 1.3 APG, 1.3 SPG, 48.8 FG%, 38.5 3P% and 76.5 FT% for the Indiana Pacers. Mathurin was also named to the NBA 2K23 All-Summer League Second Team.

Even though Duarte only appeared in one contest for the Pacers in Vegas, it was clear he’s ready for year two alongside Mathurin as he put up 16 points, four assists and three rebounds against the Charlotte Hornets.

In three games with the Memphis Grizzlies, Ziaire Williams averaged 15 PPG, 5.7 RPG, 4 APG, 47.2 FG%, 36.4 3P% and 70 FT%. Williams and the Grizzlies reached the Western Conference Semifinals in his rookie season.

Full list of former Pac-12 standouts on NBA2K23 Summer League Rosters

Arizona: Dalen Terry (Chicago Bulls), Bennedict Mathurin (Indiana Pacers), Gabe York (Indiana Pacers), Brandon Williams (Portland Trail Blazers) and Christian Koloko (Toronto Raptors)

Arizona State: Josh Christopher (Houston Rockets) and Zylan Cheatham (Milwaukee Bucks)

Colorado: Tyler Bey (Philadelphia 76ers), McKinley Wright IV (Phoenix Suns), Jabari Walker (Portland Trail Blazers) and George King (Portland Trail Blazers)

Oregon: LJ Figueroa (Charlotte Hornets), Amauri Hardy (Cleveland Cavaliers), Chris Duarte (Indiana Pacers), Eugene Omoruyi (Oklahoma City Thunder), Louis King (Phoenix Suns) and Elijah Brown (Sacramento Kings)

Oregon State: Ethan Thompson (Chicago Bulls)

Stanford: Bryce Wills (Denver Nuggets) and Ziaire Williams (Memphis Grizzlies)

UCLA: Peyton Watson (Denver Nuggets), Jules Bernard (Detroit Pistons) and Johnny Juzang (Utah Jazz)

USC: Isaiah Mobley (Cleveland Cavaliers), Bennie Boatwright (Indiana Pacers) and Elijah Stewart (New Orleans Pelicans)

Utah: Both Gach (Orlando Magic)

Washington: Isaiah Stewart (Detroit Pistons), Terrell Brown Jr. (Minnesota Timberwolves) and Abdul Gaddy (Oklahoma City Thunder).

Washington State: Robert Franks (Boston Celtics)