Skip to main content

Jacob Cowing Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Jul 18, 2022

TUCSON, Ariz. – Arizona wide receiver Jacob Cowing (So.) today was named to the watch list for the 86th Maxwell Award presented annually to the outstanding player in college football.  

Cowing is among 85 players on the Maxwell Award watch list. Before joining Arizona, he led UTEP in receiving yards all three seasons, including the 2021 campaign when he finished with 69 receptions for 1,354 yards and seven touchdowns. The sophomore from Maricopa, Arizona led all C-USA freshman and ranked No. 13 nationally with 550 receiving yards in 2019.

He earned First Team All-Conference USA honors in 2021 and Second Team recognition in 2020.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert "Tiny" Maxwell who was a former standout at Swarthmore College and a renowned sportswriter and football official.

The Maxwell Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, led by Bryce Young (Alabama) who was the 2021 winner. Young is joined by 7 additional returning semifinalists, Grayson McCall (Coastal Carolina), C.J. Stroud (Ohio State), Tanner Mordecai (SMU), Sean Tucker (Syracuse), Bijan Robinson (Texas), Brennen Armstrong (Virginia), and Sam Hartman (Wake Forest). The complete list consists of 85 players with Ohio State having 3 candidates and an additional 14 schools having two players represented.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on November 1, 2022, while the three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be unveiled on November 22, 2022. The winners of the 86th Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on December 8, 2022. The formal presentations of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards live from Atlantic City, NJ on March 10, 2023.

Questions concerning the 2022 Maxwell & Bednarik Award watch list can be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert or MFC Vice President of College Awards Rich Cirminiello

ABOUT THE MAXWELL FOOTBALL CLUB – The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football organization of its kind in America. The Club recognizes excellence in performance at the high school, collegiate, and professional levels of the game. The Maxwell Club is also deeply involved and fully vested in the community through programs to promote academic excellence, community volunteerism, and leadership. High school student-athletes around the country have an opportunity to participate in MFC Showcase events, free of charge, through the generosity of our corporate partners, Ivy Rehab, SAFR, the ETC Foundation, and the Run Around Inc. To learn more about our story visit

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.